Philadelphia did a phenomenal job hosting the NFL draft

Movie quote of the day:

“One of us had to die. With me, it tends to be the other guy.”

– Frank Costello, “The Departed” (2006)

A general view of the draft theater during the first round the 2017 NFL Draft at the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

I’m going to keep today’s post pretty brief. I just want to give a quick shout out to the city of Philadelphia. As I mentioned last week, I was there in the City of Brotherly Love for the first round of the 2017 NFL Draft. To simply put it, it was an awesome experience. The city really outdid itself and the atmosphere was amazing – mostly because the Philadelphia Eagles fans were entertaining as hell. I had fun interacting with them, despite being a Green Bay Packers fan, and joined in the roar of boos just for fun when Roger Goodell appeared on stage (even though I’m indifferent toward the man), and most of the players and coaches that were introduced – although, I actually cheered for Nick Saban, so that should please my Alabama friends.

Despite the fact that I made the terrible decision to wear boots and walk around Center City all day (which led to two huge blisters on my feet), despite the fact we had to stand all day and that caused my whole lower body to be sore for the next few days, despite the fact that we were only there for just the first 14 picks, despite the fact that my friends and I were in the middle of a mosh pit that consisted of about a minimum of 1,000 people outside the draft facility, and despite the fact that I had to deal with people pushing one another and smoking around me, I still couldn’t have had a better time at the draft.

A selfie of myself in front of the draft facility at the 2017 NFL Draft at the Benjamin Franklin Parkway in Philadelphia

NFL, I’ll definitely be back regardless if it’s ever held in Philadelphia again, but next time I’ll be sure to wear comfortable shoes and try to get a ticket and a seat.

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

