Stepped outside my comfort zone this weekend and watched a lot of hockey…and it was delightful

Movie quote of the day:

“I hope you stay still when you sleep because I’m putting a rat trap between your legs.”

– Dale Doback, “Step Brothers” (2008)

Philadelphia Flyers left wing Pierre-Edouard Bellemare (78) takes a face-off against Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby (87) during the third period in a Stadium Series hockey game at Heinz Field.
Philadelphia Flyers left wing Pierre-Edouard Bellemare (78) takes a face-off against Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby (87) during the third period in a Stadium Series hockey game at Heinz Field.

For those of you that don’t know me very well, I lived most of my life in Birmingham, Ala. – where football is king – and I was raised by a mother who never really watched much sports outside of college football and basketball, and my dad was the same but he does watch a lot of professional baseball. The point I’m trying to make is that I never knew what hockey was for the first few years of my life. I didn’t even know who Wayne Gretzky was for about the first decade of my life – and I didn’t begin to understand just how great he was as a player until last year.

My interest in hockey has grown over the years – I’ve even proclaimed the Boston Bruins as my favorite team. However, I never really sat down and watched hockey on TV outside the Stanley Cup Finals. I even attended my first NHL game last year to watch the Pittsburgh Penguins play the Columbus Blue Jackets. I made a a personal goal this season to watch more hockey instead of just the Boston Bruins or the Stanley Cup Finals, and try to be as interested in the NHL like I am the NFL. I’ve done a poor job of trying to meet that goal but this past weekend I finally stepped outside my comfort zone and watched a few games – and it was delightful.

Chicago Blackhawks right wing Patrick Kane (88) skates past St. Louis Blues center Jori Lehtera (12) during the third period at the United Center. Chicago won 4-2.
Chicago Blackhawks right wing Patrick Kane (88) skates past St. Louis Blues center Jori Lehtera (12) during the third period at the United Center. Chicago won 4-2.

It all began on Saturday when I zoned in and out of the Nashville Predators-Washington Capitals game at work. Then, I turned on the Penguins-Philadelphia Flyers outdoor game at Heinz Field. By the way, outdoor hockey is so cool. It was awesome to see a hockey game played in the elements outside and in a football field in front of roughly 60,000 people. After I got off work, I watched highlights of all the other games that day before I went to sleep. The hockey high continued yesterday when I woke up early to watch my Boston Bruins take on the Dallas Stars – yeah, I actually woke up early to watch a hockey game. Then I tuned in to the St. Louis Blues-Chicago Blackhawks game last night – which I thought was an entertaining game.

Anyway, my weekends are usually full of watching football or basketball. I have to say that I loved trying something different and enjoyed the hell out of my hockey-filled weekend. I’ve even looked into buying more Boston Bruins apparel to wear. I’m looking forward to watching the Minnesota Wild-Los Angeles Kings game tonight – I swear, I’m going to get into this sport.

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

