College football week 13 picks

(No movie quote of the day since there will be two posts today)

Here are the intriguing matchups for week 13:

Week 12 record: 8-4 (66.7 percent)
2016 record: 101-43 (70.1 percent)
All-time record: 213-102 (67.6 percent)

Thursday:

Texas A&M RB Trayveon Williams.
Texas A&M RB Trayveon Williams.

LSU (6-4) at Texas A&M (8-3)
Kyle Field
College Station, Texas
Line: LSU -7

I’d say that these teams are about even now with Texas A&M’s Trevor Knight is out for the year with an injury. However, I feel like the Aggies will still win this game. Even though Texas A&M is playing a backup at quarterback, the Aggies still have a really good run game behind the legs of Trayveon Williams – who averages seven yards per carry. The game is at home, and Texas A&M’s defensive coordinator, John Chavis, used to coach at LSU and I feel like he’ll be able to get his defense to slow down the Tigers’ offense.

Prediction: Texas A&M 23, LSU 17

Friday:

Washington State WR Gabe Marks.
Washington State WR Gabe Marks.

No. 5 Washington (10-1) at No. 23 Washington State (8-3)
Martin Stadium
Pullman, Wash.
Line: WASH -6

I can’t remember the last time the Apple Cup was this big of a game, and I’m really looking forward to this game because of it. A few weeks ago, I was leaning toward Washington State winning this game but now I’ve flipped to Washington. Both of these teams have prolific offenses, but I feel like Washington’s defense will be the difference in the game. I expect the Huskies to play well with a chance to play for the College Football Playoff on the line.

Prediction: Washington 34, Washington State 28

Texas QB Shane Buechele.
Texas QB Shane Buechele.

TCU (5-5) at Texas (5-6)
Royal Texas Memorial Stadium
Austin, Texas
Line: TEX -3.5

I really want to pick TCU, but I can’t after the Horned Frogs’ performance last week against Oklahoma State. I expect Texas to bounce back in a big way for this game after losing to Kansas last week, especially with the game at home. The players know that Charlie Strong is likely on his way out in Austin, and I feel like they’ll give it their all and play to win for him.

Prediction: Texas 31, TCU 26

Nebraska RB Terrell Newby.
Nebraska RB Terrell Newby.

No. 16 Nebraska (9-2) at Iowa (7-4)
Kinnick Stadium
Iowa City, Iowa
Line: Iowa -1

I’ve thought Nebraska was overrated all season and I have never bought into the Cornhuskers because of it. They’ve struggled against lesser competition and were blown out by a very talented Ohio State team. With this game in Iowa, I feel like the Hawkeyes will pull off the upset. Iowa plays tough defense and has a great rushing attack with Akrum Wadley and LeShun Daniels Jr. Plus, it’s still unclear if Tommy Armstrong Jr. will play for Nebraska.

Prediction: Iowa 24, Nebraska 21

Texas Tech head coach Kliff Kingsbury.
Texas Tech head coach Kliff Kingsbury.

Baylor (6-4) vs. Texas Tech (4-7)
AT&T Stadium
Arlington, Texas
Line: BAY -5.5

I think the spread is a little too in Baylor’s favor. I’ve said it for a few weeks now that the Bears are a sinking ship. I just feel like Baylor doesn’t have any momentum going into this game, and the Bears lack a true head coach to help this team bounce back. Even though Texas Tech got destroyed last week by Iowa State, I feel like Kliff Kingsbury is a decent coach and he’ll have his team motivated for this game because Kingsbury has never beat Baylor since he became the Red Raiders’ head coach in 2013.

Prediction: Texas Tech 49, Baylor 42

Saturday:

Georgia Tech QB Justin Thomas.
Georgia Tech QB Justin Thomas.

Georgia Tech (7-4) at Georgia (7-4)
Sanford Stadium
Athens, Ga.
Line: UGA -4

Even though Georgia is having a down year, I still feel like the Bulldogs are good enough to win this game. Georgia has a pretty good defense, and with the game in Athens, I think it’s going to be difficult for Georgia Tech to score points. I think this game could be a defensive slug fest, which plays into Kirby Smart’s favor since he’s a defensive guy. In the end, I think Georgia’s run game will wear down the Yellow Jackets.

Prediction: Georgia 24, Georgia Tech 20

Louisville QB Lamar Jackson.
Louisville QB Lamar Jackson.

Kentucky (6-5) at No. 11 Louisville (9-2)
Papa John’s Stadium
Louisville, Ky.
Line: LOU -26.5

Even if this game was in Lexington, I would expect this game to be very lopsided. Kentucky just doesn’t have what it takes to win this game, unless Lamar Jackson has a horrible performance. However, Louisville has had extra time to prepare for this game and after getting its butts kicked last week by Houston, I think Bobby Petrino will have his team prepared for this rivalry game.

Prediction: Louisville 44, Kentucky 16

Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn.
Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn.

No. 13 Auburn (8-3) at No. 1 Alabama (11-0)
Bryant-Denny Stadium
Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Line: ALA -17.5

I think this is too big of a rivalry for the spread to be at 17.5. Nick Saban is the best defensive mind in college football, but he has always struggled defending Gus Malzahn’s offense since Malzahn took over Auburn in 2013, and when he was offensive coordinaotr at Auburn from 2009-’11. However, I’m not stupid enough to pick against Alabama. The Tigers are banged up at quarterback and in order to beat Alabama, you need to have excellent quarterback play. I think Auburn’s defense helps keep the game within the spread, but I expect the Crimson Tide to emerge victorious.

Prediction: Alabama 34, Auburn 20

Wisconsin head coach Paul Chryst.
Wisconsin head coach Paul Chryst.

Minnesota (8-3) at No. 6 Wisconsin (9-2)
Camp Randall Stadium
Madison, Wis.
Line: WIS -14

This is another rivalry game that could turn ugly. Even though Wisconsin has a one-dimensional offense, the Badgers have had a great season due to playing very tough defense. Despite having a really good record, I just don’t think Minnesota has the talent to win this game. The game is in Madison, and I just don’t see the Golden Gophers being able to move the ball against Wisconsin’s defense.

Prediction: Wisconsin 34, Minnesota 17

Utah RB Joe Williams.
Utah RB Joe Williams.

No. 22 Utah (8-3) at No. 9 Colorado (9-2)
Folsom Field
Boulder, Colo.
Line: COLO -10

I’ll go ahead and say that I can’t pick against Colorado in this game. I picked the Buffaloes to make a bowl game in the preseason and I’ve hopped on their bandwagon and have been hoping that prediction came true. Colorado is a good team that has a very good defense. I think this fan base and program is hungry for a game like this with a chance to compete for a conference championship on the line. I think Folsom Field will be rocking, and I expect the Buffaloes to win this game and the Pac-12 South division.

Prediction: Colorado 31, Utah 24

Florida CB Teez Tabor.
Florida CB Teez Tabor.

No. 15 Florida (8-2) at No. 14 Florida State (8-3)
Doak Campbell Stadium
Tallahassee, Fla.
Line: FSU -7.5

Even though Florida beat LSU last week, I haven’t changed my opinion on the Gators. Despite what Florida’s record says, the Gators are a mess and not a very good team. I don’t think Florida State is a great team either, but I think the Seminoles are a better team than Florida. The Seminoles don’t have a great defense, but they should get stops against Florida’s below average offense. With the game in Tallahassee, I have to go with Florida State.

Prediction: Florida State 23, Florida 14

Game of the week:

Ohio State QB J. T. Barrett.
Ohio State QB J. T. Barrett.

No. 3 Michigan (10-1) at No. 2 Ohio State (10-1)
Ohio Stadium
Columbus, Ohio
Line: OSU -6.5

Michigan was the sexy pick in the preseason and throughout the regular season to win the Big Ten. However, I picked Ohio State in the preseason and I haven’t wavered. The game is in Columbus, the Buckeyes have better athletes, and I still don’t think Michigan is quite there yet as a program. Plus, I don’t think Wilton Speight is going to play for Michigan and the Wolverines don’t have quality quarterbacks outside of Speight. The Buckeyes have won this rivalry 13 of the last 15 years, and I think that trend continues.

Prediction: Ohio State 20, Michigan 15

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

