NFL week 7 picks

(No movie quote of the day since there will be two posts today)

Here are the matchups for week seven:

Week six record: 9-6 (60 percent)
2016 record: 49-43 (53.2 percent)
All-time record: 171-132 (56.4 percent)

Tonight:

Chicago OLB Leonard Floyd.
Chicago OLB Leonard Floyd.

Chicago Bears (1-5) at Green Bay Packers (3-2)
Lambeau Field
Green Bay, Wis.
Line: GB -7.5

I’m so off the Green Bay bandwagon right now, I’m debating not even watching the game tonight. This team isn’t going anywhere anytime soon. Due to Green Bay’s injuries and offensive struggles, I want to pick against them but I can’t bring myself to do it. Chicago is even worse than Green Bay. The Bears are struggling defensively and they’ll be relying on Brian Hoyer to lead their offense. I think Green Bay’s struggles continue, but I think the Packers come away with a win.

Prediction: Packers 21, Bears 16

Sunday:

Los Angeles RB Todd Gurley.
Los Angeles RB Todd Gurley.

New York Giants (3-3) at Los Angeles Rams (3-3)
Twickenham Stadium
London
Line: NYG -3

I think Los Angeles is starting to trend in the wrong direction. The Rams have lost two games in a row, and their defense has given up 61 points during that stretch to subpar opponents. I think the Rams will be tired after traveling to Detroit last week and London this week. I think the Giants get the win across the pond.

Prediction: Giants 30, Rams 23

Kansas City CB Marcus Peters.
Kansas City CB Marcus Peters.

New Orleans Saints (2-3) at Kansas City Chiefs (3-2)
Arrowhead Stadium
Kansas City, Mo.
Line: KC -6.5

Arrowhead Stadium is probably the second toughest place to play in the NFL. The Chiefs have won their last two games at home by a combined score of 50-13. I think Alex Smith and Kansas City’s offense will have a field day against New Orleans’ defense – which ranks last in the NFL in scoring. I don’t think the Saints will be able to score enough points to win on the road in a hostile environment.

Prediction: Chiefs 31, Saints 20

Tennessee QB Marcus Mariota.
Tennessee QB Marcus Mariota.

Indianapolis Colts (2-4) at Tennessee Titans (3-3)
Nissan Stadium
Nashville, Tenn.
Line: TEN -3

Tennessee has been flying under the radar and playing pretty good football recently. Marcus Mariota has been playing well the last two weeks with a completion percentage of 69.9 for 440 yards with six touchdowns and only one interception. I think Tennessee is the better team right now and I don’t think Indianapolis has the defense to go into Nashville and come out with a win.

Prediction: Titans 27, Colts 24

Philadelphia head coach Doug Pederson.
Philadelphia head coach Doug Pederson.

Minnesota Vikings (5-0) at Philadelphia Eagles (3-2)
Lincoln Financial Stadium
Philadelphia
Line: MIN -3

I really want to pick an upset for this game, but I don’t think it’ll happen. I still like Philadelphia, but Carson Wentz has started to show some rookie mistakes recently. Now, he gets to face the best scoring defense in the NFL on Sunday. I think Mike Zimmer is a great coach and he has had extra time to prepare for this game. I like the Vikings to go into Philadelphia and stay undefeated.

Prediction: Vikings 24, Eagles 22

Cleveland RB Isaiah Crowell.
Cleveland RB Isaiah Crowell.

Cleveland Browns (0-6) at Cincinnati Bengals (2-4)
Paul Brown Stadium
Cincinnati
Line: CIN -10

If this game was in Cleveland I might pick the Browns. Even though Cincinnati isn’t very good, the Browns are still the worst team in the league. I expect Cleveland’s struggles to continue. I think Cincinnati wins comfortably at home.

Prediction: Bengals 33, Browns 20

Washington head coach Jay Gruden.
Washington head coach Jay Gruden.

Washington Redskins (4-2) at Detroit Lions (3-3)
Ford Field
Detroit
Line: DET -1.5

Both of these teams have been playing well in recent weeks. That being said, I think Washington is the better team right now. The Redskins’ offense has scored 27 points or more in three of its last four games. Detroit’s defense ranks in the bottom half of the league in scoring. I think the Lions will struggle defending Washington’s offense and won’t be able to get Matt Stafford the ball enough to win.

Prediction: Redskins 30, Lions 27

Jacksonville QB Blake Bortles.
Jacksonville QB Blake Bortles.

Oakland Raiders (4-2) at Jacksonville Jaguars (2-3)
EverBank Stadium
Jacksonville, Fla.
Line: JAC -1

I feel like taking Jacksonville this game. This is a long road trip for Oakland and it’s an early kickoff. I know that the Raiders have been excellent – and haven’t lost a game on the road – but that can’t last forever. Jacksonville is coming off a road win last week, and I think the Jaguars will carry that momentum into this game. It’ll be close, but I think Jacksonville pulls off the upset.

Prediction: Jaguars 28, Raiders 24

Buffalo QB Tyrod Taylor.
Buffalo QB Tyrod Taylor.

Buffalo Bills (4-2) at Miami Dolphins (2-4)
Hard Rock Stadium
Miami
Line: BUF -3

The Bills have been on a roll since starting the season 0-2. However, Buffalo will be without LeSean McCoy this week and I think that will take a toll on Buffalo’s offense. Tyrod Taylor isn’t the type of quarterback to put a team on his back, and Miami has a pretty good defense. I think the Dolphins snap Buffalo’s four-game win streak.

Prediction: Dolphins 26, Bills 21

New York Jets QB Geno Smith.
New York Jets QB Geno Smith.

Baltimore Ravens (3-3) at New York Jets (1-5)
MetLife Stadium
East Rutherford, N. J.
Line: NYJ -2

As a WVU fan, I’m happy to see Geno Smith get another chance as the starting quarterback of the Jets, but it won’t do much good. Baltimore has a really good defense and Smith is a turnover machine. I think the Jets’ issues continue. I like Baltimore to right the ship after a three-game losing streak and get a win on the road in a low-scoring game.

Prediction: Ravens 20, Jets 15

Tampa Bay QB Jameis Winston.
Tampa Bay QB Jameis Winston.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers (2-3) at San Francisco 49ers (1-5)
Levi’s Stadium
Santa Clara, Calif.
Line: Even

San Francisco is really bad. The 49ers are on a five-game losing streak and I’m not sure it’ll stop this week. San Francisco’s defense ranks No. 31 in the league. Jameis Winston has tendencies to turn the ball over, but San Francisco’s defense has only forced two turnovers in its last three games. Tampa Bay has had extra time to prepare. I think Jameis Winston is able to limit the mistakes and leads the Buccaneers to a win.

Prediction: Buccaneers 31, 49ers 26

Atlanta WR Julio Jones.
Atlanta WR Julio Jones.

San Diego Chargers (2-4) at Atlanta Falcons (4-2)
Georgia Dome
Atlanta
Line: ATL -6.5

Even though Atlanta lost to Seattle last week, I’m willing to say that the Falcons are legit. San Diego is one of the worst teams in the league. The Chargers rank No. 23 in scoring defense and No. 25 in passing defense. I think Matt Ryan and Julio Jones will be too much for the Chargers’ defense. I think the Falcons win comfortably at home.

Prediction: Falcons 38, Chargers 24

Seattle QB Russell Wilson.
Seattle QB Russell Wilson.

Seattle Seahawks (4-1) at Arizona Cardinals (3-3)
U of Phoenix Stadium
Glendale, Ariz.
Line: ARI -1.5

Arizona has won back-to-back games and is slowly starting to piece things together. Bruce Arians is starting to get things worked out offensively for the Cardinals. Seattle is a pretty good team but its offensive line has struggled. I think the Cardinals’ pass rush will be too much for the Seahawks and Russell Wilson will struggle making plays. I think Arizona’s offense will find ways to score on Seattle’s defense.

Prediction: Cardinals 27, Seahawks 21

Monday:

Houston WR DeAndre Hopkins.
Houston WR DeAndre Hopkins.

Houston Texans (4-2) at Denver Broncos (4-2)
Sports Authority Field
Denver
Line: DEN -8.5

I think Denver is starting to look vulnerable after these last two weeks. The Broncos are struggling – particularly on offense. Denver’s offense has only scored 29 points in its last two games. I think the lack of a quarterback is starting to catch up to Denver. I can’t bring myself to pick an upset though. I think the Broncos’ defense is too good and they’ll know Osweiler’s tendencies since he used to play in Denver.

Prediction: Broncos 23, Texans 16

Game of the week:

Pittsburgh RB Le'Veon Bell.
Pittsburgh RB Le’Veon Bell.

New England Patriots (5-1) at Pittsburgh Steelers (4-2)
Heinz Field
Pittsburgh
Line: NE -7.5

If Pittsburgh is going to win this game, the Steelers are going to have to run the ball and keep Tom Brady off the field. That isn’t an impossible task because New England’s defense doesn’t rank in the top 10 in stopping the run. Las Vegas really likes New England, but I’m still not crazy about the Patriots. I think Pittsburgh’s offense has too many weapons and New England will struggle getting stops. I think the home crowd helps the Steelers pull off the upset.

Prediction: Steelers 28, Patriots 23

Teams with a bye week:
Carolina Panthers
Dallas Cowboys

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

