College football week 7 picks

Movie quote of the day:

“You pooped in the refrigerator? And you ate the whole wheel of cheese? How’d you do that? I’m not even mad. That’s amazing.”

– Ron Burgundy, “Anchorman” (2004)

Here are the intriguing matchups for week seven:

Week six record: 6-6 (50 percent)
2016 record: 52-20 (72.2 percent)
All-time record: 164-79 (67.5 percent)

Saturday:

Texas Tech head coach Kliff Kingsbury.
Texas Tech head coach Kliff Kingsbury.

No. 20 West Virginia (4-0) at Texas Tech (3-2)
Jones AT&T Stadium
Lubbock, Texas
Line: WVU -2

Even though Texas Tech has one of the worst defenses in college football – ranking No. 116 in scoring defense – the Red Raiders have the ability to score a ton of points. Texas Tech averages scoring over 60 points per game at home this season. I don’t think West Virginia has the horses to outscore Texas Tech on the road. Kliff Kingsbury is Dana Holgorsen’s apprentice and therefore knows Holgorsen’s tendencies in certain situations. Also, Lubbock is a tough place to play. I think the Red Raiders pull off a minor upset.

Prediction: Texas Tech 48, West Virginia 45

Clemson QB Deshaun Watson.
Clemson QB Deshaun Watson.

N. C. State (4-1) at No. 3 Clemson (6-0)
Memorial Stadium
Clemson, S. C.
Line: CLEM -18

I think it’s safe to say that Clemson is out of its funk from earlier in the season. The Tigers have outscored their opponents 183-53 in their last four games. Plus, Deshaun Watson has been playing lights out with 67.8 completion percentage for 1,032 yards and 14 touchdowns during that stretch. Clemson is by far the better team than N. C. State and the Tigers are playing really well right now too.

Prediction: Clemson 37, N. C. State 17

Oklahoma RB Samaje Perine.
Oklahoma RB Samajr Perine.

Kansas State (3-2) at No. 19 Oklahoma (3-2)
Memorial Stadium
Norman, Okla.
Line: OKLA -13.5

I think Kansas State has the capability to knock off Oklahoma. The Wildcats have a pretty good defense that could cause problems for the Sooners. However, I think Oklahoma is still the better team. The Sooners are on a little bit of a roll right now, and I think the Oklahoma crowd will be too much for Kansas State. I think Bill Snyder and the Wildcats keep it within the spread though.

Prediction: Oklahoma 31, Kansas State 23

Wake Forest head coach Dave Clawson.
Wake Forest head coach Dave Clawson.

Wake Forest (5-1) at No. 14 Florida State (4-2)
Doak Campbell Stadium
Tallahassee, Fla.
Line: FSU -21.5

Wake Forest is very quietly off to a great start this season. However, the Demon Deacons haven’t played anyone. Florida State is coming off a huge win over Miami last week and I think the Seminoles are feeling great about themselves. I think the Seminoles have too much talent and I expect them to carry over the momentum from last week into this game.

Prediction: Florida State 41, Wake Forest 17

Tennessee DE Derek Barnett.
Tennessee DE Derek Barnett.

No. 1 Alabama (6-0) at No. 9 Tennessee (5-1)
Neyland Stadium
Knoxville, Tenn.
Line: BAMA -14

Tennessee hasn’t beat Alabama since 2006 and I expect Neyland Stadium to be electric for this game. Tennessee has a ton of talent and the Volunteers are capable of beating Alabama. That being said, Tennessee hasn’t been able to get its talent to gel so far and the Volunteers haven’t looked very good this season because of it. Alabama is too good and I can’t see Butch Jones out-coaching Nick Saban. I think the Crimson Tide will win comfortably.

Prediction: Alabama 31, Tennessee 16

North Carolina RB Elijah Hood.
North Carolina RB Elijah Hood.

North Carolina (4-2) at No. 16 Miami (4-1)
Hard Rock Stadium
Miami
Line: MIA -7

I’m not so sure about North Carolina after the Tar Heels got destroyed at home by Virginia Tech last week. I think Mark Richt will have Miami ready to play after letting one slip last week to Florida State. I think UNC will bounce back and play better, but it’s a long road trip for the Tar Heels. I like the Hurricanes to get the win.

Prediction: Miami 30, North Carolina 24

Ole Miss head coach Hugh Freeze.
Ole Miss head coach Hugh Freeze.

No. 12 Ole Miss (3-2) at No. 22 Arkansas (4-2)
Razorback Stadium
Fayetteville, Ark.
Line: MISS -7.5

I said it last week and it somewhat showed against Alabama, but I think Arkansas is incredibly overrated. The Razorbacks’ defense has struggled against Power Five offenses this season – giving up 1,680 yards and 125 points in three games. Ole Miss has a pretty good offense and the Rebels should be able to score points. I think Arkansas keeps it close though.

Prediction: Ole Miss 37, Arkansas 31

Houston head coach Tom Herman.
Houston head coach Tom Herman.

Tulsa (4-1) at No. 13 Houston (5-1)
TDECU Stadium
Houston
Line: HOU -21

This matchup might throw everyone off because I rarely blog about non-Power Five conferences. If you like points though, I’d watch this game. Both of these teams rank in the top 25 in scoring offense. The Cougars are coming off a bad loss to Navy and I think they’ll come out angry. I expect Tom Herman will have his team ready to play.

Prediction: Houston 44, Tulsa 28

Notre Dame QB DeShone Kizer.
Notre Dame QB DeShone Kizer.

Stanford (3-2) at Notre Dame (2-4)
Notre Dame Stadium
Notre Dame, Ind.
Line: ND -3

Both of these teams aren’t as good as everybody thought they’d be in the preseason, but I always looks forward to watching these teams play against each other. I’m going to go with the Fighting Irish. I think DeShone Kizer and Notre Dame’s offense will make too many plays and Stanford won’t be able to keep up. Plus, I think the crowd will help lift Notre Dame’s porous defense.

Prediction: Notre Dame 34, Stanford 31

Arizona State RB Kalen Ballage.
Arizona State RB Kalen Ballage.

Arizona State (5-1) at Colorado (4-2)
Folsom Field
Boulder, Colo.
Line: COLO -12

Even though Colorado got beat by USC last week, I’m still all in on the Buffaloes. Colorado should be able to score points against Arizona State’s awful defense – which gives up 33 points per game. The Buffaloes rank No. 31 in scoring defense and I think they’ll be able to slow down Arizona State’s offense enough to win the game.

Prediction: Colorado 44, Arizona State 34

Washington State WR Gabe Marks.
Washington State WR Gabe Marks.

UCLA (3-3) at Washington State (3-2)
Martin Stadium
Pullman, Wash.
Line: WSU -7.5

I’m officially off UCLA. The Bruins are hyped up every year and I always buy into it, and they let me down. This is a tough road game for UCLA. Washington State has been playing very well since starting the season 0-2. The Cougars have won three games in a row and outscored opponents 149-55. Washington State can put up a lot of points and I don’t think UCLA’s defense will be able to get stops. I like the Cougars to win comfortably.

Prediction: Washington State 42, UCLA 24

Game of the week:

Ohio State QB J. T. Barrett.
Ohio State QB J. T. Barrett.

No. 2 Ohio State (5-0) at No. 8 Wisconsin (4-1)
Camp Randall Stadium
Madison, Wis.
Line: OSU -11

Urban Meyer has the Buckeyes rolling right now and the jury is still out on how good Wisconsin really is. I don’t think Wisconsin has the offense to outscore Ohio State. The Badgers don’t have a good enough quarterback and they’ve been struggling to run the ball – 2.79 rushing yards per attempt in their last two games. I think Wisconsin finds a way to keep it close, but I still like the Buckeyes.

Prediction: Ohio State 27, Wisconsin 17

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

