It’s almost time to switch gears to basketball

Movie quote of the day:

“Napoleon, don’t be jealous that I’ve been chatting online with babes all day.”

– Kip Dynamite, “Napoleon Dynamite” (2004)

College football finished up two weeks ago. I know that there’s still the Pro Bowl and the Super Bowl left. Like I said earlier this week, I could care less about the Pro Bowl. I’ll more than likely watch the Super Bowl since I like both teams, but it’s becoming tougher for me to watch the NFL playoffs after Green Bay gets eliminated. It’s a sad time for me because I love football and it’s my favorite sport, but it’s time that I start writing about basketball. Here are my thoughts so far on the season for both college and professional:

Golden State PG Stephen Curry.
Golden State PG Stephen Curry.

The Golden State Warriors are pretty good to say the least

The Warriors have a record of 42-4, which is absolutely absurd. Stephen Curry is averaging 29.9 points per game. He’s playing lights out and is solidifying himself as the best player in the league. Klay Thompson is also playing very well, averaging 20.9 points per game. Draymond Green is a freak at power forward. He can do anything and he’s the reason why Golden State plays exceptional when they go to the small lineup. I look forward to seeing if this team can keep its momentum going into the playoffs, and if they can beat the 1995-’96 Chicago Bulls’ record of 72-10.

San Antonio SF Kawhi Leonard.
San Antonio SF Kawhi Leonard.

The San Antonio Spurs are just as good as the Warriors

The Spurs are right behind the Warriors with a record of 39-7. Kawhi Leonard has taken control of this team and has emerged as the next superstar. LaMarcus Aldridge has been a great pick up for the Spurs, like everyone expected. This is a deep team that still has the usual suspects: Tony Parker, Manu Ginobili, and Tim Duncan. I can’t believe we have two teams (Spurs and Warriors) that have a legitimate chance of getting more than 72 wins. The Spurs and Warriors are easily the two best teams in the NBA and I look forward to seeing them play from here on out.

New York Knicks PF Kristaps Porzingis.
New York Knicks PF Kristaps Porzingis.

Kristaps Porzingis has been a complete surprise

Porzingis took a lot of heat prior to the 2015 NBA Draft (I even criticized him). The Euroleague-basketball stereotype hurt Porzingis’ draft stock. I think it was a fair assessment given the fact that the only player from the Euroleague that has been successful is Dirk Nowitzki. However, Porzingis has been a surprise. The 7-foot-3 power forward from Latvia averages 14 points and 7.8 rebounds per game. If he keeps it up, he’ll be a star for the New York Knicks.

LSU SF Ben Simmons.
LSU PF Ben Simmons.

College basketball is WIDE open

There’s no clear-cut favorite in college basketball. I have a feeling this is going to be a crazy March Madness and spectators are going to see a ton of upsets, similar to the 2011 NCAA Tournament. Remember that one? The tournament when none of the No. 1 seeds made the Final Four but Butler and VCU did, and No. 3 seed UConn won it all. I think that’s what is in store for the 2015 tournament. As a WVU fan, this makes me happy. It gives my Mountaineers a chance to make a run in March Madness. As Samuel L. Jackson once said in “Jurassic Park,” “Hold on to your butts.”

Ref

College basketball rules are awful

This isn’t to be confused with some of the new rules that college basketball passed this season. I’m in favor of a 30-second shot clock, fewer timeouts, and 10 total seconds to get the ball past half court instead of resetting after a stoppage. The rules I can’t stand are the defensive rules. I’m tired of hearing all the whistles when watching a college basketball game. Speaking as a fan of a Big 12 team, the Big 12 officials are already terrible and these rules are like dousing a fire with lighter fluid. A team can’t play defense anymore, any form of contact results in a foul. Do you want to know why college basketball ratings are low? It’s because there’s a whistle every possession and too many clock stoppages. For the love of God, just let them play. I find the NBA much more enjoyable than college.

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

