College Football Week 13 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Day:

“They’ve done studies, you know. Sixty percent of the time, it works every time.”

– Brian Fantana, Anchorman (2004)

Here are the intriguing matchups for week 13:

Week 12 record: 8-4
Overall record: 97-47 (67.4%)

Friday:

Navy QB Keenan Reynolds.
Navy QB Keenan Reynolds.

No. 15 Navy (9-1) vs. Houston (10-1)
TDECU Stadium
Houston, Texas
Line: NAVY -3.5

I think it’s time to start paying attention to Navy. The Midshipmen have been one of the hottest teams in the country recently. They’ve won their last three games by an average score of 48-18. The only loss Navy has is to a pretty good Notre Dame team. Houston just had a bad loss to UConn last week. It makes me wonder if head coach Tom Herman is too busy looking around the job market. I’m going with the hot team. I can’t pick against Navy right now.

Prediction: Navy 34, Houston 28

Baylor QB Chris Johnson.
Baylor QB Chris Johnson.

No. 7 Baylor (9-1) vs. No. 19 TCU (9-2)
Amon G. Carter Stadium
Fort Worth, Texas
Line: TCU -1.5

This matchup was one to circle at the start of the season. However, now it’s not. Both of these teams have had a lot of injuries and this has caused them to slip in the Big 12 standings. Baylor will be without Jarrett Stidham for the rest of season, which means that Chris Johnson will be the starter. I can’t see Trevone Boykin missing this game for TCU especially after the way TCU lost to Baylor last year. I’m going with the Horned Frogs regardless of who is at quarterback.

Prediction: TCU 31, Baylor 28

Saturday:

Michigan QB Jake Rudock.
Michigan QB Jake Rudock.

No. 8 Ohio State (10-1) vs. No. 10 Michigan (9-2)
Michigan Stadium
Ann Arbor, Mich.
Line: OSU -1

It’s the greatest rivalry in college football and nobody expected this game to involve two top 10 teams in the preseason. Ohio State has not been the team that college football fans expected going into the season. The Buckeyes haven’t played to expectations. I don’t think Ohio State has the right mindset going into this game after losing to Michigan State last week. I think Jim Harbaugh has had Michigan hungry all season and I’m sure they’ve had this game circled. I’m picking an upset and taking the Wolverines to beat Ohio State.

Prediction: Michigan 24, Ohio State 21

NC State QB Jacoby Brissett.
NC State QB Jacoby Brissett.

No. 14 North Carolina (10-1) vs. NC State (7-4)
Carter-Finley Stadium
Raleigh, N.C.
Line: UNC -5.5

North Carolina is another team that has improved all season. The Tar Heels get better every week. I think they’re going to give Clemson a run for their money in the ACC Championship, but they can’t look past this game. NC State is capable of pulling off an upset if the Tar Heels don’t show up. I don’t think it will happen though. I think Larry Fedora will have his team ready to play.

Prediction: North Carolina 31, NC State 26

Alabama DE A'Shawn Robinson.
Alabama DE A’Shawn Robinson.

No. 2 Alabama (10-1) vs. Auburn (6-5)
Jordan-Hare Stadium
Auburn, Ala.
Line: BAMA -14

Growing up in Alabama I looked forward to the Iron Bowl every year. In my opinion, it’s the second best rivalry in college football just behind Michigan-Ohio State. I understand why the spread is so much in favor of Alabama, but I think Auburn keeps it close for this game. Alabama struggles against spread offenses and I think Gus Malzahn will find a way to score points. I don’t think Auburn wins, but I think they keep it closer than 14 points.

Prediction: Alabama 31, Auburn 20

Penn State QB Christian Hackenberg.
Penn State QB Christian Hackenberg.

Penn State (7-4) vs. No. 5 Michigan State (10-1)
Spartan Stadium
East Lansing, Mich.
Line: MSU -11

Michigan State wasn’t impressive against Ohio State last week. They didn’t do anything special other than play great defense. The Spartans are the better team in this game. I expect them to be riding high after the big win last week. I don’t see Penn State being able to score enough points against Michigan State’s defense to win. I have to go with Michigan State.

Prediction: Michigan State 27, Penn State 17

UCLA head coach Jim Mora.
UCLA head coach Jim Mora.

No. 22 UCLA (8-3) vs. USC (7-4)
Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum
Los Angeles, Calif.
Line: USC -3

A berth to the PAC-12 championship is on the line for both teams. I barely consider this a road game for UCLA. Traveling shouldn’t be an issue for the Bruins. However, I expect this to be a hostile environment for UCLA. Interim head coach Clay Helton has had USC playing well since taking over. I think Jim Mora is the better coach though. I think UCLA gets it done.

Prediction: UCLA 35, USC 30

Ole Miss WR Lequon Treadwell.
Ole Miss WR Laquon Treadwell.

No. 18 Ole Miss (8-3) vs. No. 21 Mississippi State (8-3)
Davis Wade Stadium
Starkville, Miss.
Line: MISS -1

This game was a great one last year as Ole Miss knocked off Mississippi State in Oxford. The Egg Bowl will be in Starkville this time around and I’m sure the Bulldogs have had this game marked on their calendar after last year. Ole Miss has more talent on their roster but I think Dan Mullen is a better coach. I think Mississippi State will come out ready to play at home. I like the Bulldogs to win.

Prediction: Mississippi State 24, Ole Miss 21

Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher.
Florida State head coach Jimbo Fisher.

No. 13 Florida State (9-2) vs. No. 12 Florida (10-1)
Ben Hill Griffin Stadium
Gainesville, Fla.
Line: FSU -2.5

Florida has looked awful in recent weeks. The Gators had had trouble with Vanderbilt and FAU. I’ve never been high on Florida State all season, but I think the Seminoles are a much better team than Florida. I think Jimbo Fisher is a better coach. I think Florida State wins comfortably.

Prediction: Florida State 31, Florida 19

LSU head coach Les Miles.
LSU head coach Les Miles.

Texas A&M (8-3) vs. LSU (7-3)
Tiger Stadium
Baton Rouge, La.
Line: LSU -5.5

I’m not sure what to expect from LSU for this game. There’s a very good chance that Les Miles is coaching for his job. I’m curious to see how his team responds to the distraction. I don’t think LSU is a good enough team to win this game. The Tigers are one-dimensional and can’t throw the ball. Texas A&M has the better quarterback. I think the Aggies win this game.

Prediction: Texas A&M 28, LSU 21

Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield.
Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield.

No. 3 Oklahoma (10-1) vs. No. 11 Oklahoma State (10-1)
Boone Pickens Stadium
Stillwater, Okla.
Line: OKLA -7

I can’t wait for this game. I always look forward to watching Bedlam every season; it’s been a great rivalry the last few years. I expect Baker Mayfield to play in this game after getting a concussion last week against TCU. I think the Sooners are the better team. I think Oklahoma’s defense will be able to slow down Mason Rudolph and prevent the Cowboys from scoring a lot of points.

Prediction: Oklahoma 42, Oklahoma State 35

Game of the Week:

Stanford RB Christian McCaffrey.
Stanford RB Christian McCaffrey.

No. 6 Notre Dame (10-1) vs. No. 9 Stanford (9-2)
Stanford Stadium
Stanford, Calif.
Line: STAN -3.5

I’ve been looking forward to this game for quite some time. I just wish Stanford hadn’t lost to Oregon a few weeks ago. I’d be interested to see these two teams battle for a playoff spot (I think it’s unlikely to happen now unless something major happens). Stanford is the better team. Notre Dame has had too many injuries and I don’t think they match up well with Stanford’s physical style of play because of it. I can’t see Notre Dame winning this game.

Prediction: Stanford 37, Notre Dame 24

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

