NFL Week 11 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Day:

“He’s more machine now than man. His mind is twisted and evil.”

– Obi-Wan Kenobi, Return of the Jedi (1983)

Here are the matchups in the NFL for week 11:

Week 10 record: 4-10 (28.6%)
Overall record: 75-57 (56.8%)

Teams with a bye:

Cleveland (2-8)
New Orleans (4-6)
New York Giants (5-5)
Pittsburgh (6-4)

Tonight:

Tennessee quarterback Marcus Mariota.
Tennessee quarterback Marcus Mariota.

Tennessee (2-7) vs. Jacksonville (3-6)
EverBank Field
Jacksonville, Fla.
Line: JAC -3

Looks like this will be a battle for last place in the AFC South division. Jacksonville impressed me last week by going into Baltimore and getting a win. I read in an article that Jacksonville hasn’t won back-to-back games since 2010. That streak has to end eventually. I’m going with the Jaguars.

Prediction: Jaguars 23, Titans 17

Sunday:

Detroit wide receiver Calvin Johnson.
Detroit wide receiver Calvin Johnson.

Oakland (4-5) vs. Detroit (2-7)
Ford Field
Detroit, Mich.
Line: Even

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m a believer in the “West Coast to East Coast Theory” in the NFL. Oakland will have to travel across three time zones for an “early” game. However, I think Detroit will come out flat after a big win against Green Bay last week. Oakland is the better team and I think they find a way to win.

Prediction: Raiders 24, Lions 21

Indianapolis running back Frank Gore.
Indianapolis running back Frank Gore.

Indianapolis (4-5) vs. Atlanta (6-3)
Georgia Dome
Atlanta, Ga.
Line: ATL -5.5

Indianapolis will be without Andrew Luck for this game, but Matt Hasselbeck led this team to two wins earlier in the year when Luck was out with an injury. Atlanta is 1-3 in the last four games after starting the season 5-0. I want to pick against Indianapolis, but Atlanta has played poorly in the last month. I think the Colts win.

Prediction: Colts 27, Falcons 23

Houston defensive end J.J. Watt.
Houston defensive end J.J. Watt.

New York Jets (5-4) vs. Houston (4-5)
NRG Stadium
Houston, Texas
Line: NYJ -2.5

The Jets have a 1-3 record in the last month and have not played well. It’s the opposite for Houston who is 3-1 in the last month. The Texans are playing well, but are down to their third string quarterback. I think the Jets are the better team and they have the better quarterback. I think the Jets get the win.

Prediction: Jets 21, Texans 17

Philadelphia running back DeMarco Murray.
Philadelphia running back DeMarco Murray.

Tampa Bay (4-5) vs. Philadelphia (4-5)
Lincoln Financial Field
Philadelphia, Pa.
Line: PHI -7

Both of these teams have been on and off all season. I keep waiting for Philadelphia to get it together and string wins together, but they don’t. Sam Bradford is unlikely to play for this game due to injury. Mark Sanchez is a capable backup though. I think the Eagles have the better coach and defense. I’m going with the Eagles.

Prediction: Eagles 28, Buccaneers 21

Denver quarterback Brock Osweiler.
Denver quarterback Brock Osweiler.

Denver (7-2) vs. Chicago (4-5)
Soldier Field
Chicago, Ill.
Line: Even

Denver is sitting Peyton Manning for this game and has decided to give Brock Osweiler a chance to show his stuff. Chicago has played very well recently winning four out of their last six games. Jay Cutler is probably having the best season of his career so far. The Bears have been the better team recently, and I’m not sure what to expect from Osweiler. I think Chicago wins.

Prediction: Bears 24, Broncos 20

St. Louis defensive end Robert Quinn.
St. Louis defensive end Robert Quinn.

St. Louis (4-5) vs. Baltimore (2-7)
M&T Bank Stadium
Baltimore, Md.
Line: BAL -2.5

St. Louis has hit a skid the last two weeks. Baltimore can’t seem to get it together this season after I thought they’d have a good year. I keep picking Baltimore every week it seems, but they keep finding a way to lose. I’m done picking the Ravens. I think the Rams win this game.

Prediction: Rams 30, Ravens 24

Dallas wide receiver Dez Bryant.
Dallas wide receiver Dez Bryant.

Dallas (2-7) vs. Miami (4-5)
Sun Life Stadium
Miami, Fla.
Line: Even

Tony Romo returns to practice this week from his collarbone injury. Settle down Cowboys fans, I’ve seen this before when Aaron Rodgers had a similar injury in 2013. He still has to be cleared to play first. My money is on that Romo doesn’t get cleared to play. If he does, I think it will be too soon and he won’t be ready to play. Either way I’m picking Miami to win.

Prediction: Dolphins 27, Cowboys 21

Carolina quarterback Cam Newton.
Carolina quarterback Cam Newton.

Washington (4-5) vs. Carolina (9-0)
Bank of America Stadium
Charlotte, N.C.
Line: CAR -8.5

If this game were a home game for Washington I could see this being a trap game for Carolina. Since it’s a home game for Carolina, I think it’ll be difficult for Washington to win. The Panthers have been on a roll all season and I don’t expect it to change this week. I’m taking Carolina, but I think Washington gives them a tough test.

Prediction: Panthers 30, Redskins 27

San Diego quarterback Philip Rivers.
San Diego quarterback Philip Rivers.

Kansas City (4-5) vs. San Diego (2-7)
Qualcomm Stadium
San Diego, Calif.
Line: KC -3

After getting off to a 1-5 start this season, Kansas City has now won three games in a row. San Diego is a lot like Baltimore, they haven’t been able to put the pieces together this year and win games. I think the Chiefs will play well for this game because they have a great chance of getting to .500.

Prediction: Chiefs 27, Chargers 24

Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson.
Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson.

San Francisco (3-6) vs. Seattle (4-5)
CenturyLink Field
Seattle, Wash.
Line: SEA -13.5

Blaine Gabbert is back at quarterback for San Francisco. This will be a tough test for the mediocre quarterback. I expect Seattle’s defense to be licking their chops to face Gabbert. San Francisco has been a bad team all season. I think Seattle wins this game with ease.

Prediction: Seahawks 31, 49ers 13

Green Bay wide receiver Randall Cobb.
Green Bay wide receiver Randall Cobb.

Green Bay (6-3) vs. Minnesota (7-2)
TCF Bank Stadium
Minneapolis, Minn.
Line: Even

I don’t know what to expect from Green Bay anymore. The odds are that the Packers’ struggles can’t keep continuing. They have a great coach and the best quarterback in the game. I’m biased, but I’m not sold on Minnesota. The Vikings haven’t beaten a team with a winning record all season. I can’t pick Green Bay to win this game after the way they’ve played the last three weeks. I’m going with the Vikings.

Prediction: Vikings 26, Packers 21

Monday:

New England tight end Rob Gronkowski.
New England tight end Rob Gronkowski.

Buffalo (5-4) vs. New England (9-0)
Gillette Stadium
Foxboro, Mass.
Line: NE -7.5

Buffalo has won two games in a row since losing to Jacksonville in London back in October. New England has been on fire all season. The Patriots just lost Julian Edelman for the season. I think that could eventually hurt the Patriots, but it won’t be this game. New England is the better team without a doubt. I can’t pick against them.

Prediction: Patriots 34, Bills 24

Game of the Week:

Cincinnati quarterback Andy Dalton.
Cincinnati quarterback Andy Dalton.

Cincinnati (8-1) vs. Arizona (7-2)
U of Phoenix Stadium
Glendale, Ariz.
Line: ARI -5

Cincinnati finally suffered their first loss of the season Monday against Houston. It seems Arizona keeps getting better and better every week. I don’t want to say that Cincinnati is “back” to being the Cincinnati team we’re all familiar with. I think the Bengals had a bad game. It doesn’t get easier for them though. I think the Cardinals are a better team than Cincinnati. I’m going with Arizona.

Prediction: Cardinals 31, Bengals 20

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

