College Football Week 10 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Day:

“Have you ever looked into his eyes? It was like the first time I heard The Beatles.”

– Seth, Superbad (2007)

Here are the intriguing match-ups for week 10:

Week 9 record: 9-3 (75%)
Overall record: 76-32 (70.3%)

Saturday:

Northwestern head coach Pat Fitzgerald.
Northwestern head coach Pat Fitzgerald.

Penn State (7-2) vs. No. 21 Northwestern (6-2)
Ryan Field
Evanston, Ill.
Line: NW -2

Penn State has won two games in a row since losing to Ohio State in mid-October. Northwestern has struggled in their last three games. The Wildcats lost to Michigan and Iowa by a total of 68 points, and they barely beat Nebraska (3-6) team by two points. Northwestern has a great defense, and Penn State has an awful offensive line. I expect them to be able to get after Christian Hackenberg and limit Penn State’s offense. I think Northwestern wins.

Prediction: Northwestern 24, Penn State 21

North Carolina head coach Larry Fedora.
North Carolina head coach Larry Fedora.

Duke (6-2) vs. North Carolina (7-1)
Kenan Stadium
Chapel Hill, N.C.
Line: UNC -7.5

There’s no way around it, Duke got screwed last week against Miami. North Carolina has been on a roll since losing to South Carolina in week one. I expect these teams to play a great game since this is a big rivalry, and possibly a division championship is on the line. I think Duke has the better coach, but North Carolina has more talent. Also, the game is in Chapel Hill. I’m going to go with the Tar Heels.

Prediction: North Carolina 31, Duke 24

Kentucky running back Stanley Williams.
Kentucky running back Stanley Williams.

Kentucky (4-4) vs. Georgia (5-3)
Sanford Stadium
Athens, Ga.
Line: UGA -14.5

Both of these teams are looking to get back on track and try to save their season. Kentucky is hoping to end a three-game losing streak; Georgia is looking to start playing up to their preseason standards. Georgia has the better coach and has more talent. It’s a home game for the Bulldogs, and I can’t see Kentucky winning.

Prediction: Georgia 27, Kentucky 16

Pitt wide receiver Tyler Boyd.
Pitt wide receiver Tyler Boyd.

No. 5 Notre Dame (7-1) vs. Pitt (6-2)
Heinz Field
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Line: ND -8.5

Trying to pick this game makes me want to barf. As my dad usually says about a game between two teams he hates, can there be an earthquake and neither team wins? That’s the way I feel about this game (and I know my dad does too). Pitt is overrated and they haven’t played anyone. Notre Dame is a much better team. I think the Fighting Irish win comfortably.

Prediction: Notre Dame 34, Pitt 17

Clemson QB Deshaun Watson.
Clemson QB Deshaun Watson.

No. 16 Florida State (7-1) vs. No. 1 Clemson (8-0)
Memorial Stadium
Clemson, S.C.
Line: CLEM -10.5

Florida hasn’t impressed me all season. The Seminoles haven’t played anyone good and have had struggles. I think Clemson could be one of the best teams in the country. If the Tigers win this game, I think I’ll start believing in them. Even though I bashed Florida State earlier in the paragraph, I expect this to be a close game. These teams don’t like each other and a division championship is on the line. I think Clemson wins.

Prediction: Clemson 34, Florida State 28

Arkansas head coach Bret Bielema.
Arkansas head coach Bret Bielema.

Arkansas (4-4) vs. No. 18 Ole Miss (7-2)
Vaught-Hemingway Stadium
Oxford, Miss.
Line: MISS -10

Arkansas hasn’t lived up to their preseason expectations. I think Ole Miss is going to play well for this game since they control their own destiny in the SEC West. Arkansas will have to run the ball effectively to stay in this game, which is difficult to do against Ole Miss’ defense. The Rebels are the better team, and I expect them to win.

Prediction: Ole Miss 30, Arkansas 21

TCU QB Trevone Boykin.
TCU QB Trevone Boykin.

No. 8 TCU (8-0) vs. No. 14 Oklahoma State (8-0)
Boone Pickens Stadium
Stillwater, Okla.
Line: TCU -5.5

It’s a battle of Big 12 unbeatens. TCU has the better offense, but Oklahoma State has the better defense. I don’t think Oklahoma State has the offense to outscore TCU. Oklahoma State is well coached and Mike Gundy will find a way to keep the game close. I don’t feel good about it, but I’m going to take the Horned Frogs.

Prediction: TCU 42, Oklahoma State 35

Utah running back Devontae Booker.
Utah running back Devontae Booker.

No. 12 Utah (7-1) vs. Washington (4-4)
Husky Stadium
Seattle, Wash.
Line: WASH -2

I considered Utah to be the best team in the country until the USC game at the end of October. Washington has surprised me a lot this season. I thought the Huskies would struggle to make a bowl game. Washington has the better coach, but Utah is the better team. Washington will find a way to keep the game close. However, I’m going with Utah.

Prediction: Utah 24, Washington 20

Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn.
Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn.

Auburn (4-4) vs. No. 19 Texas A&M (6-2)
Kyle Field
College Station, Texas
Line: A&M -7.5

Auburn is another team that has been a disappointment all season. Texas A&M is better than what I thought they’d be, but I think the Aggies are overrated. If this game were in Auburn I’d probably pick Auburn to win. Since it’s a home game for Texas A&M, I’m picking the Aggies.

Prediction: Texas A&M 38, Auburn 30

Cal quarterback Jared Goff.
Cal quarterback Jared Goff.

Cal (5-3) vs. Oregon (5-3)
Autzen Stadium
Eugene, Ore.
Line: ORE -4

Cal is looking to end their three-game losing streak. Oregon has got back on track the last two weeks after getting off to a 3-3 start to the season. The Ducks have pulled off wins against decent competition (Washington and Arizona State). The Golden Bears have lost to better competition (Utah, UCLA, and USC), and have played well in those games. Cal definitely has the better quarterback. I think Cal pulls off a nice road win.

Prediction: Cal 35, Oregon 28

USC quarterback Cody Kessler.
USC quarterback Cody Kessler.

Arizona (5-4) vs. USC (5-3)
Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum
Los Angeles, Calif.
Line: USC -19.5

Arizona has had a two-game skid losing to Washington State and Washington the last two weeks. USC has played very well ever since Steve Sarkisian was fired. I can’t bring myself to pick against USC. The Trojans have more talent than Arizona. Plus I don’t like Rich Rodriguez. I’m taking USC.

Prediction: USC 41, Arizona 28

Game of the Week:

LSU running back Leonard Fournette.
LSU running back Leonard Fournette.

No. 2 LSU (7-0) vs. No. 4 Alabama (7-1)
Bryant-Denny Stadium
Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Line: BAMA -7

I’m surprised people haven’t been calling this match-up Game of the Century: Part II. There’s a good chance the final score of this game will be 9-6 again. Both teams have average offenses and great defenses. It’s difficult to pick against Heisman Trophy front-runner Leonard Fournette. However, LSU can’t throw the ball. I expect Alabama to load the box to stop Fournette and dare Brandon Harris to beat them by throwing the ball. I think Nick Saban will have Alabama ready to play. I think the Crimson Tide win.

Prediction: Alabama 21, LSU 16

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

