NFL Week 8 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Post:

“I’m the guy who does his job. You must be the other guy.”

– Staff Sgt. Sean Dignam, The Departed (2006)

Here are all the match-ups for week eight:

Week 7 Record: 9-5 (64.2%)
Overall Record: 53-38 (58.2%)

Teams with bye weeks:

Buffalo (3-4)
Philadelphia (3-4)
Washington (3-4)
Jacksonville (2-5)

Tonight:

New England defensive end Chandler Jones.
New England defensive end Chandler Jones.

Miami (3-3) vs. New England (6-0)
Gillette Stadium
Foxboro, Mass.
Line: NE -8.5

Miami has been hot the last two weeks, they’ve outscored opponents 82-36. New England has been the best team in the NFL all season. Some people have called this game a possible upset, I’m not. I’m don’t think Miami is a legit team, they have to keep playing like they have the last two weeks for me to be impressed. I might have a different outlook on this game if it was in Miami, but it’s not. I’m taking the Patriots, but I think Miami will be competitive.

Prediction: Patriots 34, Dolphins 28

Sunday:

Kansas City cornerback Sean Smith.
Kansas City cornerback Sean Smith.

Detroit (1-6) vs. Kansas City (2-5)
Wembley Stadium
London, England
Line: KC -5.5

Neither of these teams have lived up to expectations. I didn’t think Detroit would be the same team they were last year, but I expected more than a 1-6 record at this point. I picked Kansas City to win the AFC West. I’m not sure I’m sticking with that pick, but I think this is when they’re going to start showing that they’re going to compete for that division title. I think Kansas City wins.

Prediction: Chiefs 27, Lions 17

Tampa Bay head coach Lovie Smith.
Tampa Bay head coach Lovie Smith.

Tampa Bay (2-4) vs. Atlanta (6-1)
Georgia Dome
Atlanta, Ga.
Line: ATL -7.5

Tampa Bay is coming off a loss to Washington, a game they were leading 24-0. Atlanta has proven to be one of the better teams in the NFC. I don’t think Tampa Bay’s defense will be able to slow down Matt Ryan and the Falcons’ high-powered offense. Plus, I think Atlanta’s defense is underrated. I’m taking Atlanta.

Prediction: Falcons 34, Buccaneers 19

Arizona safety Tyrann Mathieu.
Arizona safety Tyrann Mathieu.

Arizona (5-2) vs. Cleveland (2-5)
FirstEnergy Stadium
Cleveland, Ohio
Line: ARI -4.5

I’ve always been a believer in the idea that you can almost book a loss for every West Coast team that travels to the East Coast. I don’t feel that way about this matchup. Cleveland is not a good team, and I don’t think they can beat Arizona (who is one of the best teams in the NFL). I like the Cardinals to win.

Prediction: Cardinals 24, Browns 20

St. Louis wide receiver Tavon Austin.
St. Louis wide receiver Tavon Austin.

San Francisco (2-5) vs. St. Louis (3-3)
Edward Jones Dome
St. Louis, Mo.
Line: STL -9.5

San Francisco had a major setback last week. That team was playing decent until they faced Seattle last Thursday. St. Louis is a better team than what their record indicates. I think the Rams’ defense is going to give Colin Kaepernick fits. The 49ers will have to get scores from their defense, and hope Nick Foles makes mistakes in the passing game. I don’t think that will happen. I think St. Louis will win comfortably.

Prediction: Rams 31, 49ers 13

New Orleans defensive end Cam Jordan.
New Orleans defensive end Cam Jordan.

New York Giants (4-3) vs. New Orleans (3-4)
Mercedes-Benz Superdome
New Orleans, La.
Line: NO -3

Don’t look now, but the Giants are in first place in the NFC East (don’t be fooled, that division is a dumpster fire). New Orleans is coming off two straight wins against Atlanta and Indianapolis. I like the Giants and I think they have a good chance of making the postseason, but the Saints have been playing well recently. I’m going with New Orleans to win this game.

Prediction: Saints 24, Giants 23

Minnesota linebacker Anthony Barr.
Minnesota linebacker Anthony Barr.

Minnesota (4-2) vs. Chicago (2-4)
Soldier Field
Chicago, Ill.
Line: Even

Minnesota is flying under the radar this season. The Vikings look to have a stable offense behind Adrian Peterson and Teddy Bridgewater, and their defense looks solid. Chicago is a bad team, but everyone knew that would most likely be the case going into the season. However, I think Chicago is the better-coached team and I think they will give the Vikings a game. I still think Minnesota gets it done.

Prediction: Vikings 23, Bears 20

Baltimore running back Justin Forsett.
Baltimore running back Justin Forsett.

San Diego (2-5) vs. Baltimore (1-6)
M&T Bank Stadium
Baltimore, Md.
Line: BAL -3

This is a game to watch out for that West Coast/East Coast theory I mentioned above. This is a battle of disappointing teams, especially Baltimore. I don’t think I can bring myself to pick San Diego. I don’t think they’re a good enough team to travel all the way across the country and win on the road. I’m picking the Ravens.

Prediction: Ravens 26, Chargers 21

Pittsburgh wide receiver Martavis Bryant.
Pittsburgh wide receiver Martavis Bryant.

Cincinnati (6-0) vs. Pittsburgh (4-3)
Heinz Field
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Line: Even

Cincinnati has been rolling this season. Pittsburgh gets Ben Roethlisberger back for this game. The Steelers are starting to get their pieces together now that Le’Veon Bell and Martavis Bryant are back from suspensions. The Steelers’ defense is coming along better than I thought they would. I think this is where Cincinnati gets their first loss of the season. I think Pittsburgh gets the upset at home.

Prediction: Steelers 30, Bengals 27

Houston quarterback Brian Hoyer.
Houston quarterback Brian Hoyer.

Tennessee (1-5) vs. Houston (2-5)
NRG Stadium
Houston, Texas
Line: HOU -4.5

This is a battle of two really bad teams. The loser of this game will be fighting for the top pick in the draft. It doesn’t look like Marcus Mariota is going to be able to play for this game. If he ends up playing I think it’ll be a different outcome. Until then, I like the Texans.

Prediction: Texans 23, Titans 16

Oakland safety Charles Woodson.
Oakland safety Charles Woodson.

New York Jets (4-2) vs. Oakland (3-3)
O.co Coliseum
Oakland, Calif.
Line: NYJ -2.5

It’s not quite the matchup everyone thought this game would be in the preseason. These are, well, a lot better than what many people thought they’d be before the season started. I wonder how Derek Carr will be able to handle the Jets’ defense. Since he’s at home, I expect him to be able to make plays. I like the Raiders to get the upset.

Prediction: Raiders 21, Jets 20

Dallas linebacker Rolando McClain.
Dallas linebacker Rolando McClain.

Seattle (3-4) vs. Dallas (2-4)
AT&T Stadium
Arlington, Texas
Line: SEA -7

This matchup doesn’t have near enough excitement as it did in the preseason. Both teams have had disappointing seasons to date. I wonder if Dallas’ defense will be able to get stops against Seattle’s below-par offense. Dez Bryant looks to be coming back this week, but I don’t think Matt Cassel will be able to get him the ball enough. I expect the Seattle defense to give Cassel fits. I like Seattle to win.

Prediction: Seahawks 21, Cowboys 17

Monday:

Indianapolis running back Frank Gore.
Indianapolis running back Frank Gore.

Indianapolis (3-4) vs. Carolina (6-0)
Bank of America Stadium
Charlotte, N.C.
Line: CAR -7.5

Indianapolis continues to struggle this year. I guess they can’t win games outside of their weak division. Carolina is a good football team that will give a lot of teams problems. I think Carolina’s defense is going to be tough to score on for Andrew Luck and the Colts’ offense. Cam Newton has been great all season, and the Colts’ defense is weak. I can’t bring myself to pick against Carolina.

Prediction: Panthers 28, Colts 21

Game of the Week:

Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers.
Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers.

Green Bay (6-0) vs. Denver (6-0)
Sports Authority Field
Denver, Colo.
Line: GB -3

Aaron Rodgers vs. Peyton Manning (if only these quarterbacks had played each other when both were in their prime). A battle of unbeaten teams for Sunday Night Football, I’m not sure it can get better than that. Both of these teams rank at the top two spots in scoring defense. Green Bay’s defense has been carrying the team the last two weeks, whereas Denver’s defense has been carrying their team all season. This game will come down to which quarterback can make more plays than the other. With the way Manning has played this year, I don’t see him making more plays than Rodgers. I think Green Bay remains undefeated in a close game.

Prediction: Packers 24, Broncos 21

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

