NFL Week 6 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Post:

“Being perfect is when you can look someone in the eye and know that you didn’t let them down.”

– Gary Gaines, Friday Night Lights (2004)

I had another pretty good record in my predictions last week, finishing 10-4. How about that Monday night game? I didn’t expect Pittsburgh to pull of the win after traveling across the country. Cincinnati continues to impress me. Past Cincinnati teams would’ve just rolled over after Seattle went up 24-3. Kansas City is disappointing me, especially after the home loss to Chicago last week. It surprised me, Arrowhead Stadium is one of the toughest places to play in the NFL. I expected the Chiefs to get an easy win.

Here are the match-ups for week six:

Week 5 Record: 10-4 (71.4%)
Overall Record: 45-32 (58.4%)

Teams with a bye:

Dallas (2-3)
Oakland (2-3)
St. Louis (2-3)
Tampa Bay (2-3)

Tonight:

Atlanta running back Devonta Freeman.
Atlanta running back Devonta Freeman.

Atlanta (5-0) vs. New Orleans (1-4)
Mercedes-Benz Superdome
New Orleans, La.
Line: ATL -3.5

Atlanta keeps winning, and New Orleans continues to struggle. It’s hard not to pick the Falcons. They’ve been playing great football so far. I know the Saints have had issues, but they still have Drew Brees and Sean Payton. Statistically, the Falcons can’t keep winning and New Orleans is a tough place to play. I think New Orleans gets the win.

Prediction: Saints 27, Falcons 24

Sunday:

New York Jets running back Chris Ivory.
New York Jets running back Chris Ivory.

Washington (2-3) vs. New York Jets (3-1)
MetLife Stadium
East Rutherford, N.J.
Line: NYJ -7

Both of these teams have surprised me and are better than I expected. I think the Jets are the better team personnel-wise. They have the better roster, better quarterback, and better head coach. Road games are tough in the NFL and I’m not sure Kirk Cousins can handle New York’s stout defense. I think the Jets win.

Prediction: Jets 28, Redskins 21

Pittsburgh defensive end Cam Heyward.
Pittsburgh defensive end Cam Heyward.

Arizona (4-1) vs. Pittsburgh (3-2)
Heinz Field
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Line: ARI -3.5

Arizona has looked like the best team in the NFL at times this season. Pittsburgh is coming off a good road win against San Diego. Ben Roethlisberger was rumored to try to come back from his injury for this game. I’m not sure that will happen, and I doubt Pittsburgh will try to rush their franchise quarterback on the field. Arizona has a great team, and Pittsburgh won’t win without Roethlisberger.

Prediction: Cardinals 30, Steelers 23

Kansas City quarterback Alex Smith.
Kansas City quarterback Alex Smith.

Kansas City (1-4) vs. Minnesota (2-2)
TCF Bank Stadium
Minneapolis, Minn.
Line: MIN -4

Like I’ve said above, Kansas City has been a disappointment. Minnesota has been up and down this season. The Chiefs lost running back Jamaal Charles for the season last week. With that injury, it’ll be difficult for Kansas City to win games. Minnesota has a decent roster and head coach. I think the Vikings get it done at home.

Prediction: Vikings 24, Chiefs 19

Buffalo quarterback Tyrod Taylor.
Buffalo quarterback Tyrod Taylor.

Cincinnati (5-0) vs. Buffalo (3-2)
Ralph Wilson Stadium
Buffalo, N.Y.
Line: CIN -3

Cincinnati looks more and more like a serious contender. Buffalo has been up and down so far. The Bengals keep winning, but I think this will be a bump in the road for them. Andy Dalton has been great, but I wonder if he can play well against Buffalo’s defense. I think Buffalo will be ready to play. I like the Bills to win.

Prediction: Bills 27, Bengals 23

Detroit wide receiver Calvin Johnson.
Detroit wide receiver Calvin Johnson.

Chicago (2-3) vs. Detroit (0-5)
Ford Field
Detroit, Mich.
Line: DET -3

Chicago got a nice road win against Kansas City last week. Detroit continues to struggle, they even benched Matt Stafford for Dan Orlovsky. That never is a good recipe for the rest of the season. Statistically speaking, Detroit can’t keep losing games. They have too much talent. I think Detroit gets their first win of the season.

Prediction: Lions 26, Bears 21

Denver wide receiver Demaryius Thomas.
Denver wide receiver Demaryius Thomas.

Denver (5-0) vs. Cleveland (2-3)
FirstEnergy Stadium
Cleveland, Ohio
Line: DEN -4

Denver is still the most unimpressive undefeated team in the NFL. Cleveland isn’t an awful team. This will be a true test for Peyton Manning and the Broncos. I want to pick the Browns to win, but I’m not sure they have the offense to score points against Denver’s defense. I’m taking the Broncos to win a close game.

Prediction: Broncos 22, Browns 17

Jacksonville wide receiver Allen Robinson.
Jacksonville wide receiver Allen Robinson.

Houston (1-4) vs. Jacksonville (1-4)
EverBank Field
Jacksonville, Fla.
Line: Even

Both of these are toward the bottom of the NFL totem pole. I think Houston has the better roster minus quarterback. Jacksonville does have the better quarterback. It’s tough to win on the road in the NFL. This is a division game and I expect the Jaguars to play well at home. I think Jacksonville gets the win.

Prediction: Jaguars 20, Texans 17

Tennessee quarterback Marcus Mariota.
Tennessee quarterback Marcus Mariota.

Miami (1-3) vs. Tennessee (1-3)
Nissan Stadium
Nashville, Tenn.
Line: TEN -1

Until I see otherwise, I don’t think there’s any way Miami can can survive their sinking ship. I expect Tennessee to play angry after letting one slip last week against Buffalo. I think the Titans get the win.

Prediction: Titans 27, Dolphins 17

Carolina tight end Greg Olsen.
Carolina tight end Greg Olsen.

Carolina (4-0) vs. Seattle (2-3)
CenturyLink Stadium
Seattle, Wash.
Line: SEA -7.5

Carolina is another undefeated team that hasn’t impressed because they have yet to play a team with a decent quarterback. Seattle’s offense has been struggling and I think Carolina’s pass rush will have a field day getting after Russell Wilson. However, I still think Seattle finds a way to win at home.

Prediction: Seahawks 24, Panthers 20

Baltimore kicker Justin Tucker.
Baltimore kicker Justin Tucker.

Baltimore (1-4) vs. San Francisco (1-4)
Levi’s Stadium
San Francisco, Calif.
Line: BAL -1

I’m getting close to getting off Baltimore’s bandwagon. This team doesn’t look good. However, San Francisco looks worse than the Ravens. I know I said Baltimore doesn’t look good, but the 49ers are awful. I think the Ravens manage to win the game.

Prediction: Ravens 21, 49ers 17

Green Bay nose tackle B.J. Raji.
Green Bay nose tackle B.J. Raji.

San Diego (2-3) vs. Green Bay (5-0)
Lambeau Field
Green Bay, Wisc.
Line: GB -11.5

San Diego lost a heart-breaking game to Pittsburgh on Monday. Aaron Rodgers had a rare bad home game. That’s unlikely to happen two weeks in a row. The Chargers’ defense isn’t great. I think the Packers win comfortably.

Prediction: Packers 33, Chargers 17

Monday:

Philadelphia running back Darren Sproles.
Philadelphia running back Darren Sproles.

New York Giants (3-2) vs. Philadelphia (2-3)
Lincoln Financial Field
Philadelphia, Pa.
Line: PHI -4

The Giants have worked their way into first place in the NFC East division. The Eagles got a win against New Orleans last week. Philadelphia is slowly starting to fix their kinks. I’ve said it the last few weeks, but I think the Eagles are close to figuring it out. I think this will be a good game. I think Philadelphia wins.

Prediction: Eagles 26, Giants 23

Game of the Week:

New England quarterback Tom Brady.
New England quarterback Tom Brady.

New England (4-0) vs. Indianapolis (3-2)
Lucas Oil Stadium
Indianapolis, Ind.
Line: NE -10.5

New England had been on a roll all season. Tom Brady has been playing lights out. Indianapolis is on a three game win streak after starting the season 0-2. I think this game will have a different outcome if Andrew Luck plays. However, the Colts don’t match up well and I think the Patriots will win.

Prediction: Patriots 30, Colts 17

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

