College Football Week 7 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Post:

“A dog’s got personality. Personality goes a long way.”

– Jules Winnfield, Pulp Fiction (1994)

Yet another 8-4 record in my predictions last week. Oklahoma was a complete let down last week against Texas. Typical Oklahoma. NC State was another disappointment, I thought they were the better team than Virginia Tech. Georgia let one slip through their fingers against Tennessee last week. Of course, it doesn’t help when your star running back gets hurt with a knee injury on the first play. Anyway, here’s the intriguing match-ups of week seven:

Week 6 Record: 8-4 (66.6%)
Overall Record: 50-22 (69.4%)

Tonight:

Kentucky running back Stanley Williams.
Kentucky running back Stanley Williams.

Auburn (3-2) vs. Kentucky (4-1)
Commonwealth Stadium
Lexington, Ky.
Line: AUB -1.5

I would say everyone in the country, other than Alabama fans, have been disappointed in Auburn. Kentucky has been decent, but they haven’t played anyone. I think the Tigers are trending in the wrong direction and it’s tough to win conference games on the road. I think the Wildcats pull off a close win.

Prediction: Kentucky 31, Auburn 28

UCLA head coach Jim Mora.
UCLA head coach Jim Mora.

#18 UCLA (4-1) vs. #15 Stanford (4-1)
Stanford Stadium
Stanford, Calif.
Line: STAN -7

Stanford has played like one of the best teams in the country ever since losing to Northwestern in week one. I think UCLA has had too many injuries on defense. You never know what to expect from a true freshman quarterback, especially in a road game. Stanford always has a great defense and I think they’ll be victorious.

Prediction: Stanford 34, UCLA 23

Saturday:

Iowa running back Jordan Canzeri.
Iowa running back Jordan Canzeri.

#17 Iowa (6-0) vs. #20 Northwestern (5-1)
Ryan Field
Evanston, Ill.
Line: IOWA -2

I’m not sure how good this Iowa team is. The Hawkeyes haven’t played anyone decent, other than Wisconsin. Northwestern had a poor game against Michigan last week, but I still think they’re a good team. I think Pat Fitzgerald is the better coach. I think the Wildcats get the win at home.

Prediction: Northwestern 24, Iowa 23

Baylor quarterback Seth Russell.
Baylor quarterback Seth Russell.

West Virginia (3-2) vs. #2 Baylor (5-0)
McLane Stadium
Waco, Texas
Line: BAY -21.5

West Virginia is starting to trend in the wrong direction. I know I’m biased, but I think the spread is ridiculous for this game. I think West Virginia matches up well as long as they don’t turn the ball over. West Virginia has the defense to slow down Baylor’s offensive attack; however, I don’t think they have the horses on offense to outscore Baylor. The only way the Mountaineers can win is if they run the ball and keep Baylor’s offense off the field. I think Baylor wins, but it’ll be well within than the spread.

Prediction: Baylor 38, West Virginia 28

Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer.
Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer.

Virginia Tech (3-3) vs. Miami (3-2)
Sun Life Stadium
Miami Gardens, Fla.
Line: MIA -4.5

Once upon a time this used to be a matchup between great teams. However, now these teams are below average. Between these teams, Miami has the better quarterback with Brad Kaaya. I don’t think Virginia Tech as the offense to score enough points to beat Miami. I like the Hurricanes to win.

Prediction: Miami 24, Virginia Tech 19

Texas A&M quarterback Kyle Allen.
Texas A&M quarterback Kyle Allen.

#10 Alabama (5-1) vs. #9 Texas A&M (5-0)
Kyle Field
College Station, Texas
Line: BAMA -4

Other than last season, this is a matchup that has given Alabama fits. Alabama has issues with spread offenses. Texas A&M probably has the best quarterback in the SEC with Kyle Allen. I think the Aggies will be able to score points against the Tide. Texas A&M looks like they have the defense to get enough stops to win. I’m taking Texas A&M.

Prediction: Texas A&M 33, Alabama 28

Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops.
Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops.

#19 Oklahoma (4-1) vs. Kansas State (3-2)
Bill Snyder Family Stadium
Manhattan, Kan.
Line: OKLA -4

After I thought Oklahoma looked like a real contender after knocking off West Virginia with ease, they turn into typical Oklahoma and lose to a lesser opponent. Kansas State continues to play pretty well despite not having a proper quarterback. You can credit that to head coach Bill Snyder. I’m a huge fan of Snyder. I think he’ll find a way to keep this game close, but I think Oklahoma wins.

Prediction: Oklahoma 30, Kansas State 24

Minnesota head coach Jerry Kill.
Minnesota head coach Jerry Kill.

Nebraska (2-4) vs. Minnesota (4-2)
TCF Bank Stadium
Minneapolis, Minn.
Line: MINN -2

Nebraska continues to struggle under first year head coach Mike Riley. I’ve always said to watch out for Minnesota. The Gophers are not a bad team, and they’re well coached. I don’t think Nebraska will stop struggling any time soon. I think Minnesota gets the win.

Prediction: Minnesota 27, Nebraska 21

Florida running back Kelvin Taylor.
Florida running back Kelvin Taylor.

#8 Florida (6-0) vs. #6 LSU (5-0)
Tiger Stadium
Baton Rouge, La.
Line: LSU -7.5

Probably the biggest news of this week was Florida quarterback Will Grier getting suspended for the season after using PED’s. After this news broke, I think it’ll be difficult for Florida to win. Both of these teams have good run games, awful passing attacks, and have great defenses. I think this will be a low scoring game, but I think the Tigers win.

Prediction: LSU 21, Florida 13

USC cornerback Adoree Jackson.
USC cornerback Adoree Jackson.

USC (3-2) vs. #14 Notre Dame (5-1)
Notre Dame Stadium
Notre Dame, Ind.
Line: ND -7

The other huge news that broke this week was USC fired head coach Steve Sarkisian on Monday. I don’t expect the Trojans to be prepared for this game with all of the news and distractions surrounding the program this week. Notre Dame has the better coach and better talent. I like the Irish to win and I think it could get ugly.

Prediction: Notre Dame 33, USC 23

Penn State head coach James Franklin.
Penn State head coach James Franklin.

Penn State (5-1) vs. #1 Ohio State (6-0)
Ohio Stadium
Columbus, Ohio
Line: OSU -19

Ohio State has not looked good so far. The Buckeyes don’t have an identity on offense and have been relying on their defense to make plays. Ohio State has a great front seven and I don’t think Penn State’s offensive line will be able to protect Christian Hackenberg long enough for him to make plays. I think Ohio State wins.

Prediction: Ohio State 38, Penn State 24

Game of the Week:

Michigan State quarterback Connor Cook.
Michigan State quarterback Connor Cook.

#7 Michigan State (6-0) vs. #12 Michigan (5-1)
Michigan Stadium
Ann Arbor, Mich.
Line: MICH -7.5

This game has turned into a bigger game than many expected before the season started. Michigan has looked like one of the best teams in the country ever since week one. However, I’m not sold on the Wolverines yet. They beat Northwestern, who I think is a good team, but I thought they were overrated. I expect this to be a close game and I trust a proven quarterback like Connor Cook more than Jake Rudock. I think the Spartans win.

Prediction: Michigan State 24, Michigan 21

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

