College football week 6 picks

Movie Quote of the Day:

“I have very little to get to the gym, I have to sculpt my guns in the office.”

– Ron Burgundy, Anchorman (2004)

I once again went 8-4 in my picks last week. I think it’s going to be a pattern the rest of the season. I got the Tulsa-Houston game wrong last week, but I really didn’t know much about either team. I based that off of the fact Tulsa played Oklahoma pretty close. Wisconsin really let me down last week since they lost to Iowa, 10-6. Lastly, Ole Miss let me down. They looked awful against Florida. I keep expecting Florida to hit a speed bump, but they haven’t yet. Anyway, here are the week six match-ups that I find intriguing and my picks:

Week five record: 8-4 (66.7 percent)
All-time record: 43-17 (71.7 percent)

Tonight:

Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer.
Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer.

NC State (4-1) vs. Virginia Tech (2-3)
Lane Stadium
Blacksburg, Va.
Line: VT -3

I picked this game mainly because there’s not a very good slate of games this weekend. NC State is off to a good start this season, but they haven’t played anyone remotely decent. In fact, they lost last week to a Louisville team who was 1-3. Virginia Tech has been equally bad. They’ve lost to East Carolina and Pitt in the last two weeks. This will be a hostile environment for the Wolfpack, but I think they’re the better team than Virginia Tech. I like NC State to get a nice conference road win.

Prediction: NC State 22, Virginia Tech 17

Saturday:

Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz.
Iowa head coach Kirk Ferentz.

Illinois (4-1) vs. #22 Iowa (5-0)
Kinnick Stadium
Iowa City, Iowa
Line: Iowa -11

Illinois is another team that has got off to a good start. They got a nice win against Nebraska last week. Iowa is also off to a great start, but they haven’t played anyone. I think Iowa has the better head coach with Kirk Ferentz. Iowa runs the ball efficiently with Jordan Canzeri. The Hawkeyes’ defense has been solid too, allowing just 15.4 points per game. I think we’re going to start seeing the decline of Illinois; I like Iowa to win comfortably at home.

Prediction: Iowa 31, Illinois 13

Oklahoma linebacker Eric Striker.
Oklahoma linebacker Eric Striker.

#10 Oklahoma (4-0) vs. Texas (1-4)
Cotton Bowl
Dallas, Texas
Line: OKLA -16.5

I watched WVU play Oklahoma last week, and I don’t if the Sooners are that good or my Mountaineers are that bad. For now, I’m saying that Oklahoma is that good. Texas has been awful to say the least this season. This game is usually pretty close, but that won’t be the case this year. I expect Oklahoma to roll over Texas.

Prediction: Oklahoma 37, Texas 14

Penn State quarterback Christian Hackenberg.
Penn State quarterback Christian Hackenberg.

Indiana (4-1) vs. Penn State (4-1)
Beaver Stadium
University Park, Pa.
Line: PSU -7

Indiana gave Ohio State all they could handle last week. Penn State has won four games in a row since losing to Temple in week one. Indiana can score points, and Penn State struggles to score points. If Penn State is going to win this game, they’re going to have to protect quarterback Christian Hackenberg. I like James Franklin as a head coach and Penn State has more talent, plus they’re at home. I’m taking the Nittany Lions

Prediction: Penn State 23, Indiana 17

Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney.
Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney.

Georgia Tech (2-3) vs. #6 Clemson (4-0)
Memorial Stadium
Clemson, S.C.
Line: CLEM -7.5

I’m surprised with how poorly Georgia Tech has played the last three weeks. I expected the Yellow Jackets to compete for an ACC title. Clemson narrowly escaped a game against Notre Dame last week. I don’t know how good Clemson really is, but I think they’re pretty good and have a great chance of winning the ACC. Clemson is a tough place to play. You never know what to expect from Georgia Tech’s triple option offense, but I’m taking the Tigers.

Prediction: Clemson 31, Georgia Tech 20

Tennessee head coach Butch Jones.
Tennessee head coach Butch Jones.

#19 Georgia (4-1) vs. Tennessee (2-3)
Neyland Stadium
Knoxville, Tenn.
Line: UGA -3

Georgia got absolutely demolished last week against Alabama. Tennessee continues to disappoint and struggle. I don’t know what to expect from Tennessee anymore. I feel at some point Butch Jones will be able to assemble the stellar talent he’s brought into Knoxville and get his team to be great. I have to see it first before I believe it will happen. I’m taking Georgia in a close game.

Prediction: Georgia 27, Tennessee 23

Nebraska wide receiver Jordan Westerkamp.
Nebraska wide receiver Jordan Westerkamp.

Wisconsin (3-2) vs. Nebraska (2-3)
Memorial Stadium
Lincoln, Neb.
Line: NEB -1.5

Wisconsin disappointed me last week. I thought the Badgers would score more than six points. Nebraska continues to struggle under new head coach Mike Riley. I was never a fan of Riley when he was at Oregon State. I don’t think he’s the guy that’s going to get Nebraska back to the program it was in the 90s. I think Wisconsin has the better talent and coach. I’m taking the Badgers.

Prediction: Wisconsin 20, Nebraska 16

Oklahoma State defensive end Emmanual Ogbah.
Oklahoma State defensive end Emmanuel Ogbah.

#21 Oklahoma State (5-0) vs. West Virginia (3-1)
Milan Puskar Stadium
Morgantown, W.Va.
Line: WVU -7

As a fan, I was disappointed watching West Virginia play Oklahoma. The Mountaineers have to cool it with the turnovers. Oklahoma State is undefeated, but I have not been impressed with them. The Cowboys have struggled in games between Texas and Kansas State. Both of these teams have good defenses, but I expect Mason Rudolph to struggle in the crazy Morgantown atmosphere. I’m not confident, but I like West Virginia to win.

Prediction: West Virginia 28, Oklahoma State 27

TCU wide receiver Josh Doctson.
TCU wide receiver Josh Doctson.

#2 TCU (5-0) vs. Kansas State (3-1)
Bill Snyder Stadium
Manhattan, Kan.
Line: TCU -10.5

TCU remains undefeated after steam-rolling Texas last week. Kansas State is off to a good start, but lost a close game to Oklahoma State last week. The Wildcats aren’t in a good position to win this game because they’ve had a ton of injuries at the quarterback position. TCU has the better quarterback by a mile. Something I’ve learned is to never bet against a Bill Snyder coached team. I think TCU wins, but it will be a close game.

Prediction: TCU 30, Kansas State 28

Miami head coach Al Golden.
Miami head coach Al Golden.

Miami (3-1) vs. #12 Florida State (4-0)
Doak Campbell Stadium
Tallahassee, Fla.
Line: FSU -8

Miami may have a good record, but this isn’t a very good team. Florida State is undefeated, but they haven’t impressed me much. The Seminoles are the better-coached team with more talent. I expect Florida State to comfortably win this game.

Prediction: Florida State 33, Miami 14

Cal head coach Sonny Dykes.
Cal head coach Sonny Dykes.

#23 Cal (5-0) vs. #5 Utah (4-0)
Rice-Eccles Stadium
Salt Lake City, Utah
Line: UTAH -7.5

Both of these teams are off to hot starts. Cal has one of the best offenses in college football. Utah has looked like one of the best teams in the country. I think both of these teams have good coaches. I wonder how Jared Goff will be able to handle the atmosphere in Salt Lake City. This will be a good game and I like Utah to win it.

Prediction: Utah 35, Cal 30

Game of the Week:

Northwestern running back Justin Jackson.
Northwestern running back Justin Jackson.

#13 Northwestern (5-0) vs. #18 Michigan (4-1)
Michigan Stadium
Ann Arbor, Mich.
Line: MICH -7.5

I can’t wait for this game. Northwestern is a good team that no one is paying attention to. The Wildcats aren’t going to beat you with style points; they’re just going to grind out every game. Michigan has been hot ever since losing to Utah in week one. However, other than BYU, they haven’t played anyone good. Both of these teams have great coaches. This will be a great game. I really want to pick Northwestern, but I don’t think they have the personnel. I think the Wolverines will be victorious.

Prediction: Michigan 21, Northwestern 17

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

