College Football Week 5 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Day:

“Now’s not the time for fear. That comes later.”

– Bane, The Dark Knight Rises (2012)

Once again I went 8-4 in my picks last week, it doesn’t look like I’ll get over the 8-4 or 9-3 hump. Clearly, Georgia Tech isn’t as good as I thought they’d be. I thought they’d have a good chance of winning the ACC, that’ll be difficult now after losing to Duke. Tennessee has been a disappointment; I thought they were going to win the SEC East division. The TCU-Texas Tech game last week was the best game of the week, it was an absolutely crazy game. Here are the match-ups that I find the most intriguing for week five and my picks:

Week 4 Record: 8-4 (66.6%)
Overall Record: 34-14 (70.8%)

Tomorrow:

Houston head coach Tom Herman.
Houston head coach Tom Herman.

Houston (3-0) vs. Tulsa (2-1)
Chapman Stadium
Tulsa, Okla.
Line: HOU -7.5

Both of these teams have potent offenses. I’m expecting a ton of points to be scored in this game. Tulsa played well against Oklahoma in week three, but came up short. Houston is the only team that has a signature win, which came against Louisville in week two. I’m not going to pretend to be an expert on this game because I don’t know very much about either team. I think this game is coin flip, I’m taking the home team.

Prediction: Tulsa 41, Houston 38

Northwestern head coach Pat Fitzgerald.
Northwestern head coach Pat Fitzgerald.

Minnesota (3-1) vs. #16 Northwestern (4-0)
Ryan Field
Evanston, Ill.
Line: NW -4

Minnesota has struggled in every game this year. Ever since their loss to TCU in week one, the Golden Gophers have beat Colorado State, Kent State, and Ohio (not to be confused with Ohio State) by a combined nine points. Northwestern has been the more impressive team, beating better teams like Stanford and Duke. I really like Pat Fitzgerald as a head coach, I’m going with the Wildcats.

Prediction: Northwestern 28, Minnesota 23

Wisconsin running back Taiwan Deal.
Wisconsin running back Taiwan Deal.

Iowa (4-0) vs. #19 Wisconsin (3-1)
Camp Randall Stadium
Madison, Wisc.
Line: WIS -7

Iowa has got off to a great start to their season, but they have yet to play anyone to the caliber of Wisconsin. Ever since their loss to Alabama in week one, the Badgers have outscored their opponents 114-3. The game is at Wisconsin and I’ve been more impressed with the Badgers so far this season.

Prediction: Wisconsin 31, Iowa 24

Oklahoma running back Samaje Perine.
Oklahoma running back Samaje Perine.

#23 West Virginia (3-0) vs. #15 Oklahoma (3-0)
Memorial Stadium
Norman, Okla.
Line: OKLA -7

Whenever the Mountaineers and Sooners have played since WVU joined the Big 12, the games have been wild. WVU has been more impressive to me, they’ve outscored all of their opponents 130-23, but that was against weak competition. I have to pick my head over my heart in this game. I’m not sold on this Mountaineers team just yet, if this game were in Morgantown I’d have a different approach. I think Oklahoma gets it done at home.

Prediction: Oklahoma 28, West Virginia 24

Georgia Tech head coach Paul Johnson.
Georgia Tech head coach Paul Johnson.

North Carolina (3-1) vs. Georgia Tech (2-2)
Bobby Dodd Stadium
Atlanta, Ga.
Line: GT -7.5

Georgia Tech has dropped their last two games to Notre Dame and Duke. Not only have the Yellow Jackets been beat, but their opponents have handled them. North Carolina has been on a roll since getting beat by South Carolina in week one. I think the Tar Heels are a much better team than they were last year. I don’t think Georgia Tech has the horses on offense to keep up with North Carolina.

Prediction: North Carolina 34, Georgia Tech 23

Alabama quarterback Jake Coker.
Alabama quarterback Jake Coker.

#13 Alabama (3-1) vs. #8 Georgia (4-0)
Sanford Stadium
Athens, Ga.
Line: UGA -1.5

The last time these two teams met in the regular season was in 2008, and it was pure domination by Alabama. It was the birth of the Bama Dynasty. Georgia has been impressive this season, but they haven’t played anyone. I think Alabama is the better team, and they’re definitely the better-coached team. I don’t see Alabama losing two conference games within a span of a month. I think the Tide will get the win.

Prediction: Alabama 30, Georgia 27

Texas Tech quarterback Patrick Mahomes.
Texas Tech quarterback Patrick Mahomes.

Texas Tech (3-1) vs. #5 Baylor (3-0)
AT&T Stadium
Arlington, Texas
Line: BAY -17

Texas Tech suffered a heart-breaking loss to TCU last week. Baylor has been dominating their competition (granted it was weak competition). Texas Tech looks like a much better team than I thought though. I expect a lot of points to be scored between these offenses. However, teams that come off emotional games almost always come out flat the next week. It’s not a good recipe for Texas Tech, I think Baylor wins big.

Prediction: Baylor 56, TCU 35

Kansas State head coach Bill Snyder.
Kansas State head coach Bill Snyder.

Kansas State (3-0) vs. #20 Oklahoma State (4-0)
Boone Pickens Stadium
Stillwater, Okla.
Line: OKST -7.5

Kansas State is undefeated, but hasn’t impressed. I don’t think the Wildcats are that good, but Oklahoma State hasn’t been that impressive to me either. This seems like a game that Bill Snyder will find a way to win. However, I think Snyder’s magic is about done at Kansas State. I like the Cowboys to win in a dogfight at home.

Prediction: Oklahoma State 34, Kansas State 28

Ole Miss quarterback Chad Kelly.
Ole Miss quarterback Chad Kelly.

#25 Florida (4-0) vs. #3 Ole Miss (4-0)
Ben Hill Griffin Stadium
Gainesville, Fla.
Line: MISS -7.5

Florida is another undefeated team that hasn’t impressed me. I’m not sure though if Ole Miss is as good as their No. 3 rank. I keep expecting Florida to slip up under new head coach Jim McElwain, but they haven’t yet. It’ll be rowdy in Gainesville, but I think Ole Miss is the better-coached team. I don’t think Florida will be able to keep up with Ole Miss’ offense.

Prediction: Ole Miss 27, Florida 17

Texas A&M defensive end Myles Garrett.
Texas A&M defensive end Myles Garrett.

#21 Mississippi State (3-1) vs. #14 Texas A&M (4-0)
Kyle Field
College Station, Texas
Line: TA&M -5.5

It will be a battle between the best quarterbacks in the SEC tomorrow. Mississippi State is coming off a win against Auburn. Texas A&M is still undefeated, but like most undefeated teams they played weak competition. I don’t know how good Texas A&M is, but I don’t believe Mississippi State is the No. 21 team in the country. I like the Aggies to win at home.

Prediction: Texas A&M 33, Mississippi State 24

Arizona head coach Rich Rodriguez.
Arizona head coach Rich Rodriguez.

Arizona (3-1) vs. #18 Stanford (3-1)
Stanford Stadium
Stanford, Calif.
Line: STAN -13.5

Stanford has been on a roll ever since getting beat by Northwestern in week one. Arizona was beat pretty good by a UCLA team that is probably the best team in the PAC-12. I’m not sure how good Arizona is, maybe UCLA is just that good. Rich Rodriguez is the better coach. However, I think Stanford remains hot and wins comfortably at home.

Prediction: Stanford 38, Arizona 28

Game of the Week:

Notre Dame quarterback DeShone Kizer.
Notre Dame quarterback DeShone Kizer.

#6 Notre Dame (4-0) vs. #12 Clemson (3-0)
Memorial Stadium
Clemson, S.C.
Line: CLEM -2

Notre Dame keeps winning games despite having a lot of injuries. Clemson is undefeated, but they haven’t played anyone remotely good. Notre Dame has looked like a much better team, in my opinion. The Fighting Irish have the better coach and talent. I’ve never bought into the Clemson hype ever since the 2012 Orange Bowl. I’m taking Notre Dame to get a nice road win.

Prediction: Notre Dame 35, Clemson 28

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

