NFL Week 4 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Day:

“Your mom goes to college.”

– Kip Dynamite, Napoleon Dynamite (2004)

I had a much better week with my predictions last week than I did in week two. I keep picking the Baltimore Ravens to win games, and they keep letting me down. Philadelphia looked like the team that I expected they would be this year on Sunday. Miami let me down too; I’m close to jumping off that bandwagon. Here are the match-ups for week four and my predictions.

Week 3 Record: 11-5 (68.7%)
Overall Record: 24-24 (50.0%)

Thursday:

Baltimore wide receiver Steve Smith.
Baltimore wide receiver Steve Smith.

Baltimore (0-3) vs. Pittsburgh (2-1)
Heinz Field
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Line: BAL -3

Like I said above, the Ravens keep letting me down. They lost again in a wild game against Cincinnati. Pittsburgh has won their last two games after dropping the opener against New England. The Ravens have had their struggles, but the overall record of the teams that they’ve faced is 8-1. The Steelers will be without Ben Roethlisberger for the next month or so, which means Michael Vick will be the starting quarterback in Pittsburgh. I think Vick’s days are long behind him, I expect the Steelers to struggle. The Ravens have the better quarterback, and they’re too good of a team to keep losing. Against my better judgment, I’m going to pick the Ravens to win again.

Prediction: Ravens 24, Steelers 23

Sunday:

Jets quarterback Ryan Fitzpatrick.
Jets quarterback Ryan Fitzpatrick.

New York Jets (2-1) vs. Miami (1-2)
Wembley Stadium
London, United Kingdom
Line: Even

This is the first game in London of the 2015 season. The Jets got beat for the first time last week against Philadelphia. Miami continues to disappoint me. I had such high hopes for the Dolphins and they’ve looked awful in all of their games. The Jets have the better coach and better defense. I’m not sure if Tannehill can score enough points against the Jets’ defense to get the win. I can’t see the Dolphins winning this game after the way that they’ve played.

Prediction: Jets 21, Dolphins 20

Jacksonville quarterback Blake Bortles.
Jacksonville quarterback Blake Bortles.

Jacksonville (1-2) vs. Indianapolis (1-2)
Lucas Oil Stadium
Indianapolis, Ind.
Line: IND -10

Indianapolis finally got a win last week against Tennessee, and New England destroyed Jacksonville. I think the spread is a little too much in Indianapolis’ favor for this game. I understand the Colts are at home, but their defense is awful. It’s not like Jacksonville is a juggernaut, but it’s a division game and I think Jacksonville keeps it close. That being said, I’m still taking the Colts at home.

Prediction: Colts 38, Jaguars 33

Buffalo wide receiver Sammy Watkins.
Buffalo wide receiver Sammy Watkins.

New York Giants (1-2) vs. Buffalo (2-1)
Ralph Wilson Stadium
Buffalo, N.Y.
Line: BUF -5.5

The Giants finally got their first win of the season against Washington last week. Buffalo beat Miami like a dog on the road. Buffalo has played very well so far. The Giants have played well too, but they didn’t finish the job in their first two games. If they had, there’s a good chance the Giants would be undefeated. I’m not sure the Giants have what it takes to get a road win against the Bills. I’ll take the Buffalo at home.

Prediction: Bills 30, Giants 17

Tampa Bay tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins.
Tampa Bay tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins.

Carolina (3-0) vs. Tampa Bay (1-2)
Raymond James Stadium
Tampa, Fla.
Line: CAR -3

Carolina is undefeated, but they haven’t been that impressive to me. Tampa Bay has been up and down so far. It looks like Jameis Winston is starting to find his footing after a dreadful performance in week one. I wonder how Winston will be able to handle Carolina’s defense. Both of these teams have a good pass rush on defense and they’re facing below average offensive lines. Cam Newton is the better quarterback and is more mobile to avoid that pressure. I think Carolina remains unbeaten.

Prediction: Panthers 24, Buccaneers 20

Washington running back Alfred Morris.
Washington running back Alfred Morris.

Philadelphia (1-2) vs. Washington (1-2)
FedEx Field
Landover, Md.
Line: PHI -3

Philadelphia got back on track as they defeated the Jets. Washington suffered their second loss to the Giants. The Eagles were vastly improved last week. It’s only a matter of time before this team really gets going. This is a division game so I expect both teams to play well. I’m going with the Eagles to win though.

Prediction: Eagles 26, Redskins 21

Oakland linebacker Khalil Mack.
Oakland linebacker Khalil Mack.

Oakland (2-1) vs. Chicago (0-3)
Soldier Field
Chicago, Ill.
Line: OAK -3

Oakland got a road win against the Browns last week. Chicago got shutout by Seattle and continues to struggle in every way. The Raiders are finally a favorite in a game for the first time since 2013. Chicago will probably be without quarterback Jay Cutler. I like Derek Carr more than Jimmy Clausen. Chicago has traded two of their defensive playmakers (Jared Allen and Jon Bostic) this week. I like the Raiders to get another win.

Prediction: Raiders 27, Bears 20

Atlanta cornerback Desmond Trufant.
Atlanta cornerback Desmond Trufant.

Houston (1-2) vs. Atlanta (3-0)
Georgia Dome
Atlanta, Ga.
Line: ATL -7

Houston got their first win of the season last week. Atlanta is flying under the radar and continues to win. Matt Ryan and Julio Jones are playing lights out for the Falcons. I don’t see how Houston can keep up with the Falcons’ offense given their quarterback situation. I like the Falcons to win at home comfortably.

Prediction: Falcons 34, Texans 17

Cincinnati running back Gio Bernard.
Cincinnati running back Gio Bernard.

Kansas City (1-2) vs. Cincinnati (3-0)
Paul Brown Stadium
Cincinnati, Ohio
Line: CIN -4

Kansas City had a tough game against Green Bay on Monday. Cincinnati got another victory in a wild game against Baltimore. Andy Dalton has played really well so far this season and the Chiefs’ secondary is depleted with injuries. However, the Chiefs do get Sean Smith back from suspension. I picked the Chiefs to win their division, but they haven’t well this year. I’m taking the Bengals at home.

Prediction: Bengals 31, Chiefs 23

Cleveland cornerback Joe Haden.
Cleveland cornerback Joe Haden.

Cleveland (1-2) vs. San Diego (1-2)
Qualcomm Stadium
San Diego, Calif.
Line: SD -9

Cleveland is still a typical Cleveland team. They’re lousy at the quarterback position. San Diego is the better team; they also have the better quarterback. This will be a long road trip for the Browns. I don’t see how they win this game unless Philip Rivers gets hurt. I’m taking San Diego to win comfortably.

Prediction: Chargers 28, Browns 14

St. Louis linebacker James Laurinitis.
St. Louis linebacker James Laurinitis.

St. Louis (1-2) vs. Arizona (3-0)
U of Phoenix Stadium
Glendale, Ariz.
Line: ARI -7.5

St. Louis has struggled ever since getting a win against Seattle in week one. Arizona has been playing at a high level so far. The Cardinals are currently the best team in the NFC West. I don’t think Nick Foles can make enough plays against Arizona’s defense. Bruce Arians is a great head coach. I like Arizona to win at home.

Prediction: Cardinals 31, Rams 20

Green Bay wide receiver Randall Cobb.
Green Bay wide receiver Randall Cobb.

Green Bay (3-0) vs. San Francisco (1-2)
Levi’s Stadium
Santa Clara, Calif.
Line: GB -9.5

Green Bay has been rolling all season, and Aaron Rodgers played very well. After a great performance on Monday Night Football in week one, San Francisco has been awful since. The scoreboard doesn’t show it, but the Packers’ defense has played well in their last two games. I wonder if the Packers have made any adjustments to stopping the read option. I’ve always said Colin Kaepernick saves his best for Green Bay, but he’s been abysmal the last two weeks. I’m taking the Packers, but I expect the 49ers to put up a good fight.

Prediction: Packers 34, 49ers 24

New Orleans running back Mark Ingram.
New Orleans running back Mark Ingram.

Dallas (2-1) vs. New Orleans (0-3)
Mercedes-Benz Superdome
New Orleans, La.
Line: NO -7

This game is probably one of the hardest Sunday Night Football games to promote. Most likely Drew Brees isn’t going to play in this game for the Saints. Dallas will be without Tony Romo and Dez Bryant. The Saints haven’t won a game yet this season, I think they get it right this week with a depleted Cowboys roster coming to town.

Prediction: Saints 23, Cowboys 20

Monday:

Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson.
Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson.

Detroit (0-3) vs. Seattle (1-2)
CenturyLink Field
Seattle, Wash.
Line: SEA -10.5

Detroit continues to have their struggles. Seattle got back on track with a shutout victory against Chicago. It’s going to be a long road trip for the Lions. Seattle is a very difficult place to play, and I think Matt Stafford is going to struggle against the Seahawks’ defense. I like the Seahawks to win at home.

Prediction: Seahawks 33, Lions 14

Game of the Week:

Minnesota tight end Kyle Rudolph.
Minnesota tight end Kyle Rudolph.

Minnesota (2-1) vs. Denver (3-0)
Sports Authority Field
Denver, Colo.
Line: DEN -7

Minnesota has looked like a much better team than the one that showed up against San Francisco in week one. Denver has been the most unimpressive undefeated team in the NFL, in my opinion. The Broncos are last in total offense, but their defense is pretty good. I look forward to seeing how Teddy Bridgewater handles playing on the road in a tough environment like Denver. I expect him to struggle, I’m picking the Broncos in a dog fight.

Prediction: Broncos 21, Vikings 17

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

