College Football Week 4 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Day:

“It’s not a purse, it’s called a satchel. Indiana Jones wears one.”

– Alan Garner, The Hangover (2009)

I had another pretty good week last week with my predictions. Georgia Tech let me down, but despite all their injuries Notre Dame still looks pretty good. Arkansas was obviously the most overhyped team heading into the season. First, they lost to Toledo and now Texas Tech (I’m not sold on a team that went 4-8 last year). Lastly, USC continues to be overhyped about every other year. I still don’t think Stanford is that good. Below are the week four match-ups that I find intriguing. Here are my predictions:

Week 3 Record: 8-4 (66.7%)
Overall Record: 26-10 (72.2%)

Tonight:

Oregon State head coach Gary Andersen.
Oregon State head coach Gary Andersen.

#21 Stanford (2-1) vs. Oregon State (2-1)
Reser Stadium
Corvallis, Ore.
Line: STAN -14.5

Stanford got a big win against a top 10 USC team last week. However, this team still lost to Northwestern, where they only scored six points. I’m not sold on the Cardinal. Oregon State got a win against San Jose State. Like I’ve said in a previous post, I think Gary Andersen is good coach and he’ll get the Beavers in the right direction, but it won’t be this year. I know I said I’m not sold on Stanford, but I like them to win this game.

Prediction: Stanford 27, Oregon State 16

Tomorrow:

BYU head coach Bronco Mendenhall.
BYU head coach Bronco Mendenhall.

#22 BYU (2-1) vs. Michigan (2-1)
Michigan Stadium
Ann Arbor, Mich.
Line: MICH -7

BYU got their first loss last week against UCLA. After losing to Utah in week one, Michigan has won their last two games by a combined 49 points. I don’t like BYU’s chances in this game. It’s a long road trip from Provo to Ann Arbor. Noon kickoffs rarely bode well for west coast teams. I’m taking Michigan.

Prediction: Michigan 27, BYU 22

Duke quarterback Thomas Sirk.
Duke quarterback Thomas Sirk.

#20 Georgia Tech (2-1) vs. Duke (2-1)
Wallace Wade Stadium
Durham, N.C.
Line: GT -7.5

The scoreboard didn’t show it, but Notre Dame controlled the game against Georgia Tech last week. Duke got beat by Northwestern in a low-scoring game. I really like the way Georgia Tech runs the triple option. Duke doesn’t have near the same talent as Notre Dame and I doubt they’ll be able to contain Georgia Tech the way Notre Dame did. I think Georgia Tech will bounce back.

Prediction: Georgia Tech 26, Duke 17

West Virginia quarterback Skyler Howard.
West Virginia quarterback Skyler Howard.

Maryland (2-1) vs. West Virginia (2-0)
Milan Puskar Stadium
Morgantown, W.Va.
Line: WVU -17

Maryland got back on track last week beating South Florida. West Virginia had a bye week. This rivalry always seems to be a close game every time these teams face each other. I’m sure Maryland will want revenge after last year after West Virginia won in Maryland on a last-second field goal. Maryland has experienced cornerbacks, whereas West Virginia has young wide receivers. I look forward to seeing how that matchup plays out. I still like West Virginia to win comfortably at home.

Prediction: West Virginia 38, Maryland 21

Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph.
Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph.

#24 Oklahoma State (3-0) vs. Texas (1-2)
Royal Texas Memorial Stadium
Austin, Texas
Line: OKST -3

Oklahoma State dominated Texas-San Antonio last week by a score of 69-14. Texas lost a heartbreaking game to Cal after their kicker missed an extra point to tie the game late in the fourth quarter. I think Oklahoma State has a better team than Cal; the Cowboys definitely have a better defense. I think Texas will go back to struggling on offense. I think the spread is too close for this game, I like Oklahoma State to get the win.

Prediction: Oklahoma State 30, Texas 17

Tennessee quarterback Josh Dobbs.
Tennessee quarterback Josh Dobbs.

Tennessee (2-1) vs. Florida (3-0)
Ben Hill Griffin Stadium
Gainesville, Fla.
Line: TENN -1.5

Tennessee destroyed Western Carolina last week. Florida narrowly knocked off Kentucky 14-9, a typical SEC style, low-scoring game (yawn). Florida has had dogfights in their last two games. It’s a home game, and I expect Ben Hill Griffin Stadium to be rocking. However, Tennessee has a lot more talent and I think we’re going to see Florida finally hit a slide under first year head coach Jim McElwain.

Prediction: Tennessee 27, Florida 20

Texas Tech head coach Kliff Kingsbury.
Texas Tech head coach Kliff Kingsbury.

#3 TCU (3-0) vs. Texas Tech (3-0)
Jones AT&T Stadium
Lubbock, Texas
Line: TCU -7

TCU hasn’t impressed me at all this season, and they beat SMU 56-37 last week (really? You give up 37 points to SMU?). Texas Tech has looked like the most improved Big 12 team, in my opinion. This is going to be a wild, crazy game. Both offenses can score points, but I’m not sold on their defenses. TCU has had a lot of injuries, but Trevone Boykin is the better quarterback. I like TCU in a shootout.

Prediction: TCU 49, Texas Tech 44

Washington quarterback Jake Browning.
Washington quarterback Jake Browning.

Cal (3-0) vs. Washington (2-1)
Husky Stadium
Seattle, Wash.
Line: Cal -3

Cal narrowly escaped Texas last week. Washington hasn’t been spectacular this season, but my expectations weren’t high for the Huskies. This is another spread that is too close, in my opinion. Cal has one of the best offenses in the country and they’re going to score a lot of points. Not to mention Cal’s Jared Goff might be the top quarterback taken in the NFL Draft in April. Washington struggles at scoring points. I expect the atmosphere to be rowdy in Seattle, but I like Cal to win comfortably.

Prediction: Cal 35, Washington 24

Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott.
Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott.

Mississippi State (2-1) vs. Auburn (2-1)
Jordan-Hare Stadium
Auburn, Ala.
Line: Auburn -2.5

Mississippi State has been about what I’ve expected from them. They lost a tough game to LSU (who is pretty good) in week two. Auburn continues to be awful this season. Auburn has had their struggles at quarterback and offense, Jeremy Johnson has been benched for this game. It’s all about quarterbacks in today’s football and Dak Prescott is the best in the SEC. I’m taking Mississippi State to get a road win.

Prediction: Mississippi State 33, Auburn 30

Arizona State quarterback Mike Bercovici.
Arizona State quarterback Mike Bercovici.

#19 USC (2-1) vs. Arizona State (2-1)
Sun Devil Stadium
Tempe, Ariz.
Line: USC -5.5

Both of these teams have really disappointed me, particularly Arizona State. They’ve had their struggles this season. USC has the advantage in this game. They have better talent, and I like Steve Sarkisian as a head coach more than I do Todd Graham. Stanford embarrassed USC last week, and I think USC will play angry and get the road win tomorrow night.

Prediction: USC 34, Arizona State 21

Oregon running back Royce Freeman.
Oregon running back Royce Freeman.

#18 Utah (3-0) vs. #13 Oregon (2-1)
Autzen Stadium
Eugene, Ore.
Line: ORE 12.5

Oregon dominated Georgia State last week, and Utah knocked off Fresno State comfortably to remain undefeated. As we all know, Oregon is known for scoring points. I don’t think Utah is going to be able to keep up with Oregon. I’m taking Oregon, but don’t sleep on Utah in this game. Utah can sneak up on Oregon if the Ducks don’t show up.

Prediction: Oregon 37, Utah 24

Game of the Week:

Arizona quarterback Anu Solomon.
Arizona quarterback Anu Solomon.

#9 UCLA (3-0) vs. #16 Arizona (3-0)
Arizona Stadium
Tucson, Ariz.
Line: UCLA -3

I can’t wait for this game, both of these teams are well coached. It has looked to me that Arizona has improved each week after a scare from Texas-San Antonio in week one. I expect Arizona Stadium to have a crazy atmosphere, I wonder what kind of effect that will have on the UCLA true freshman quarterback Josh Rosen. This will be Rosen’s first true collegiate road game (at UNLV in week two doesn’t count). I hate doing it because I despise Rich Rodriguez, but I’m taking Arizona to get the upset.

Prediction: Arizona 35, UCLA 30

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

