NFL week 3 picks

Movie Quote of the Day:

“What? Over? Did you say over? Nothing is over until we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell no!”

– John “Bluto” Blutarsky, Animal House (1978)

I had an awful week last week with my predictions. The irony is that I felt good about the majority of my picks. I bought into the Marcus Mariota hype, and jumped off the Jameis Winston train too soon. Both quarterbacks were the complete opposite of their week one selves in week two. I hate picking against the Green Bay Packers since they’re my team, but I really expected Seattle to get back on track, and I didn’t expect Green Bay’s defense to play as well as they did. I shouldn’t be shocked by Miami’s performance against Jacksonville, but I am because I expected more from this team. Lastly, New England is still the top dog in the AFC East by a mile, shut up Buffalo. Below is all the matchups for week three. Check out my picks:

Week two record: 4-12 (25 percent)
All-time record: 13-19 (40.6 percent)

Tonight:

Washington quarterback Kirk Cousins.
Washington quarterback Kirk Cousins.

Washington (1-1) vs. New York Giants (0-2)
MetLife Stadium
East Rutherford, N.J.
Line: NYG -3

Washington squeaked out a win against St. Louis last week. New York has lost two games in a row after leading by double digits at some point in the game. I’m interested to see how Washington plays in their first road game of the season. I think the Giants will play with new life now that they see Dallas without Tony Romo and Dez Bryant. I expect them to have the mentality that their season isn’t over. I like the Giants at home.

Prediction: Giants 24, Redskins 21

Sunday:

Atlanta quarterback Matt Ryan.
Atlanta quarterback Matt Ryan.

Atlanta (2-0) vs. Dallas (2-0)
AT&T Stadium
Arlington, Texas
Line: Even

Atlanta keeps winning games they probably shouldn’t. Matt Ryan and Julio Jones are both playing well. Dallas has played well so far, but injuries have plagued this team. Tony Romo, Dez Bryant, Orlando Scandrick, and Randy Gregory are all hurt. I think Dallas is going to struggle covering Jones without Scandrick, and getting to Ryan without Gregory. I expect Atlanta to get stops against an offense with Brandon Weeden at quarterback, and a lack of a run game. I’m taking Atlanta to get another win.

Prediction: Falcons 27, Cowboys 17

Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck.
Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck.

Indianapolis (0-2) vs. Tennessee (1-1)
Nissan Stadium
Nashville, Tenn.
Line: IND -3

Indianapolis has struggled so far this season. That offensive line is terrible, and Andrew Luck is getting beat up. The defense still isn’t great and has a depleted secondary. Tennessee struggled on the road against Cleveland last week. Tennessee doesn’t have a front seven that will give Indianapolis’ offensive line fits. Winning on the road is always tough in the NFL, but I can’t see Indianapolis losing a third straight game. I think the Colts get their first win in a close one.

Prediction: Colts 28, Titans 27

Oakland quarterback Derek Carr.
Oakland quarterback Derek Carr.

Oakland (1-1) vs. Cleveland (1-1)
FirstEnergy Stadium
Cleveland, Ohio
Line: CLE -3

Oakland knocked off Baltimore at home last week due to some late game heroics from quarterback Derek Carr. Cleveland got their win against Tennessee thanks to great special teams play. Josh McCown has been named the starter for Cleveland for this game. It’s a quarterback league and I like Carr a lot more than McCown. The only thing going for Cleveland is that this game is in Cleveland. Cleveland is a tough place to play, I’m taking the home team.

Prediction: Browns 23, Raiders 21

Baltimore quarterback Joe Flacco.
Baltimore quarterback Joe Flacco.

Cincinnati (2-0) vs. Baltimore (0-2)
M&T Bank Stadium
Baltimore, Md.
Line: BAL -2.5

Cincinnati looks a lot better than what I expected them to be this year. Andy Dalton and that offense is playing well, Tyler Eifert looks like the next star at tight end. Their defense is still pretty good. Baltimore has had two tough road trips across the country to start their season. Baltimore is well-coached, I expected a lot from this Baltimore team and I think John Harbaugh will figure it out. Similar to Indianapolis, I can’t see Baltimore losing three games in a row. I’m taking Baltimore at home.

Prediction: Ravens 26, Bengals 21

New England quarterback Tom Brady.
New England quarterback Tom Brady.

Jacksonville (1-1) vs. New England (2-0)
Gillette Stadium
Foxboro, Mass.
Line: NE -14.5

Jacksonville got a win against Miami last week. I’m not looking too much into it though because Miami always seems to let me down. New England dominated Buffalo after I bought into the Buffalo hype. Like I said above, New England is still the top dog in not just the AFC East, but also in the entire AFC. I don’t see how Jacksonville can win this game unless New England is hit with a ton of injuries during the game. I think New England wins comfortably at home.

Prediction: Patriots 31, Jaguars 13

Carolina linebacker Luke Kuechly.
Carolina linebacker Luke Kuechly.

New Orleans (0-2) vs. Carolina (2-0)
Bank of America Stadium
Charlotte, N.C.
Line: CAR -3

New Orleans struggled against Tampa Bay at home, the team who was beat by Tennessee by four touchdowns. The story of New Orleans the last year has been that the team plays well on the road and terrible at home, which is uncharacteristic of the average NFL team. New Orleans could be without Drew Brees for this game. Carolina doesn’t have a great offense, but New Orleans’ defense isn’t anything special. I think Carolina’s defense will give New Orleans fits, especially if Brees isn’t playing. I’ll take Carolina to remain undefeated.

Prediction: Carolina 23, New Orleans 17

Jets cornerback Darrelle Revis.
Jets cornerback Darrelle Revis.

Philadelphia (0-2) vs. New York Jets (2-0)
MetLife Stadium
East Rutherford, N.J.
Line: NYJ -1

Philadelphia is not the team that I expected them to be. They can’t run the ball, Sam Bradford has looked awful and uncomfortable in the system. Chip Kelly will figure it out, but it’ll take time. The Jets have been better than what I thought they’d be. I think Kelly will get this Philadelphia team going eventually, but I have to see it to believe it first. Until that time, I’m taking the Jets to get the win.

Prediction: Jets 24, Eagles 20

Tampa Bay wide receiver Mike Evans.
Tampa Bay wide receiver Mike Evans.

Tampa Bay (1-1) vs. Houston (0-2)
NRG Stadium
Houston, Texas
Line: HOU -7

After getting embarrassed in week one, Tampa Bay bounced back last week and got a road win against New Orleans. Houston continues to struggle on offense since their quarterbacks are lousy. Houston’s defense will keep them in the game. I like Bill O’Brien as a head coach, I think Houston gets it right this week and gets the win.

Prediction: Texans 21, Buccaneers 14

Minnesota quarterback Teddy Bridgewater.
Minnesota quarterback Teddy Bridgewater.

San Diego (1-1) vs. Minnesota (1-1)
TCF Bank Stadium
Minneapolis, Minn.
Line: MIN -1

It’s another long road trip for San Diego this week. They got beat by Cincinnati in their game last week. Minnesota looked better than the team that played on Monday Night Football in week one. I think Minnesota found their groove last week and that’s the team that you’re going to see for most of the year. San Diego struggles against the run, I think Adrian Peterson will have a big day. I think the Vikings will win at home.

Prediction: Vikings 22, Chargers 17

Arizona quarterback Carson Palmer.
Arizona quarterback Carson Palmer.

San Francisco (1-1) vs. Arizona (2-0)
U of Phoenix Stadium
Glendale, Ariz.
Line: ARI -7

San Francisco was brought back to reality last week against Pittsburgh. Arizona has looked really good so far this season. I think Bruce Arians is a great coach, they have a better roster than San Francisco, and they have a better quarterback. Arizona is playing at a high level. It’ll be close because it’s a division game, but I like the Cardinals to pull away late in the game.

Prediction: Cardinals 28, 49ers 20

Buffalo defensive end Mario Williams.
Buffalo defensive end Mario Williams.

Buffalo (1-1) vs. Miami (1-1)
Sun Life Stadium
Miami, Fla.
Line: MIA -2.5

Miami lost last week to Jacksonville, but Ryan Tannehill has played solid this year. If Miami can get their defense together, they’ll be a contender if Tannehill keeps playing as well as he has. Buffalo looked good in week one, but struggled against New England last week. I’m interested to see if Miami can handle Buffalo’s pass rush. Whoever wins that battle will win the game I think. I’m think Miami will squeak out a win at home.

Prediction: Dolphins 28, Bills 24

Seattle safety Kam Chancellor.
Seattle safety Kam Chancellor.

Chicago (0-2) vs. Seattle (0-2)
CenturyLink Field
Seattle, Wash.
Line: SEA -15.5

Chicago looked bad against Arizona at home, and now Jay Cutler is out for a few weeks due to injury. Seattle hasn’t impressed either, but Kam Chancellor decided to return to the team this week. Chicago in Seattle, without their starting quarterback, and with that porous defense is a recipe for disaster. I don’t think it’ll be a close game, Seattle will get their first win comfortably.

Prediction: Seahawks 34, Bears 13

Denver quarterback Peyton Manning.
Denver quarterback Peyton Manning.

Denver (2-0) vs. Detroit (0-2)
Ford Field
Detroit, Mich.
Line: DEN -3

Denver has won all their games so far this season, but I’m not impressed with them yet. Their defense is solid, but Peyton Manning continues to struggle and that makes Denver’s offense struggle. Detroit has had a sluggish start to the season, I expected more from them. Detroit’s defense has been awful so far, ranking 30th in the league. Denver barely got away with a win against Kansas City because their defense forced five turnovers. Denver’s offense hasn’t been impressive which could help Detroit’s defense create stops. The game is in Detroit, I think they’ll get their first win at home.

Prediction: Lions 24, Broncos 23

Monday:

Green Bay linebacker Clay Matthews.
Green Bay linebacker Clay Matthews.

Kansas City (1-1) vs. Green Bay (2-0)
Lambeau Field
Green Bay, Wisc.
Line: GB -7.5

Kansas City should’ve won their game against Denver last week, but they had too many turnovers. Green Bay has looked pretty good this season, and they’re coming off a big win against Seattle. Kansas City’s offense isn’t great and Green Bay’s defense took a step forward last week. I’m interested to see if Green Bay can contain Jamaal Charles as well as they contained Marshawn Lynch last week. Kansas City has a great defense, but Aaron Rodgers is going to find ways to score points.

Prediction: Packers 30, Chiefs 21

Game of the Week:

Pittsburgh running back Le'Veon Bell.
Pittsburgh running back Le’Veon Bell.

Pittsburgh (1-1) vs. St. Louis (1-1)
Edward Jones Dome
St. Louis, Mo.
Line: Even

Pittsburgh looked better last week as they dominated San Francisco. St. Louis had a tough road tip and lost to a Washington team that isn’t as bad as I thought they’d be. Pittsburgh gets Le’Veon Bell back this week from suspension. I wonder if Nick Foles and St. Louis’ offense can score enough points to keep up with Pittsburgh. St. Louis has a great defense, but Pittsburgh is going to put up points. I like Pittsburgh to get the road win.

Prediction: Steelers 33, Rams 28

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

