College Football week 3 picks

Movie Quote of the Day:

“We all end up dead, it’s just a question of how and why.”

– William Wallace, Braveheart (1995)

Just like in week one, I was 9-3 in my picks last week. I would’ve had a better record if BYU would quit winning games off Hail Mary passes, and Louisville could beat Houston like they should. Outside of that, I really enjoyed the BYU-Boise State game. It seems like it’s always a great game when the Broncos and Cougars play against each other. There are some interesting match-ups for week three. Here’s my predictions:

Week two record: 9-3 (75 percent)
All-time record: 18-6 (75 percent)

Tonight:

Florida State quarterback Everett Golson.
Florida State quarterback Everett Golson.

#9 Florida State (2-0) vs. Boston College (2-0)
Alumni Stadium
Chestnut Hill, Mass.
Line: Florida State -9

Don’t sleep on this game. Boston College is a well-coached team, in my opinion. Florida State is loaded with talent. If Florida State doesn’t show up, Boston College is capable of winning this game. However, I can’t see Boston College outplaying Florida State. The Seminoles have too much talent, I think they pull away in the second half.

Prediction: Florida State 30, Boston College 20

Saturday:

North Carolina quarterback Marquise Williams.
North Carolina quarterback Marquise Williams.

Illinois (2-0) vs. North Carolina (1-1)
Kenan Stadium
Chapel Hill, N.C.
Line: North Carolina -9

Illinois has won their games in blowouts, but it was Kent State and Western Illinois. I picked North Carolina to beat South Carolina in week one, if it weren’t for turnovers they would’ve won that game. I don’t think Illinois has the horses on offense to keep up with North Carolina. Plus North Carolina’s defense is improved from last year. Like I’ve said before, I think Larry Fedora is a good coach. I’m taking the Tar Heels at home.

Prediction: North Carolina 31, Illinois 20

Duke head coach David Cutcliffe.
Duke head coach David Cutcliffe.

#23 Northwestern (2-0) vs. Duke (2-0)
Wallace Wade Stadium
Durham, N.C.
Line: Duke -3.5

I think this is going to be a good game. Both teams are well-coached. Northwestern has been the more impressive team, knocking off Stanford in week one. Duke has only played Tulane and North Carolina Central. Northwestern has a really good defense. I like Pat Fitzgerald as head coach. I don’t like picking against Duke because I think they’re a good team, but I think Northwestern gets it done on the road.

Prediction: Northwestern 27, Duke 24

Auburn quarterback Jeremy Johnson.
Auburn quarterback Jeremy Johnson.

#18 Auburn (2-0) vs. #13 LSU (1-0)
Tiger Stadium
Baton Rouge, La.
Line: LSU -7

Auburn has looked good in their first two games, particularly their quarterback Jeremy Johnson. Johnson has struggled against an 0-3 Louisville team and a FCS team. I’m interested to see how Johnson handles going into Baton Rouge. I think LSU will expose Auburn on defense, but it won’t be through the air. I expect running back Leonard Fournette to have a big game. Auburn embarrassed LSU last year, I think LSU wants payback. I think LSU wins in a low-scoring game.

Prediction: LSU 20, Auburn 17

Georgia Tech quarterback Justin Thomas.
Georgia Tech quarterback Justin Thomas.

#14 Georgia Tech (2-0) vs. #8 Notre Dame (2-0)
Notre Dame Stadium
South Bend, Ind.
Line: Georgia Tech -2.5

This has the potential to be the best game of the weekend. I think Georgia Tech is a great team that is very well-coached. Notre Dame is well-coached too and they have more talent than Georgia Tech. However, Notre Dame has lost their starting quarterback, running back, and tight end due to injury. I think Notre Dame’s defense will have trouble stopping Georgia Tech’s triple option. I think Notre Dame’s talent will keep them in the game, but Georgia Tech will get a nice road win.

Prediction: Georgia Tech 28, Notre Dame 27

Nebraska quarterback Tommy Armstrong.
Nebraska quarterback Tommy Armstrong.

Nebraska (1-1) vs. Miami (2-0)
Sun Life Stadium
Miami, Fla.
Line: Miami -3

I’m not sure what to expect from this game. I think Nebraska has the better coach, but Miami has more talent. Miami quarterback Brad Kaaya is pretty good. Nebraska has to travel a long way to play this game. I’m not crazy about this pick, but I think Miami wins.

Prediction: Miami 30, Nebraska 24

Arkansas head coach Bret Bielema.
Arkansas head coach Bret Bielema.

Texas Tech (2-0) vs. Arkansas (1-1)
Razorback Stadium
Fayetteville, Ark.
Line: Arkansas -11.5

Texas Tech is all about offense, and I think they still struggle on defense. Arkansas looked abysmal last week as they lost to Toledo. I think Bret Bielema is great coach and I think he’ll have Arkansas ready to play this week after an embarrassment last week. I think the Arkansas run offense will be able to keep Texas Tech off the field and chew up clock. I’m taking Arkansas in a close one.

Prediction: Arkansas 23, Texas Tech 17

Texas quarterback Charlie Strong.
Texas head coach Charlie Strong.

Cal (2-0) vs. Texas (1-1)
Austin, Texas
Royal Texas Memorial Stadium
Line: Cal -7

Cal is a great offensive team with quarterback Jared Goff, and they’re well-coached under Sonny Dykes. Cal also has a pretty good defense. Texas has looked awful this season. they have more talent, but I’ve never believed Charlie Strong is much of a coach. Texas can’t score points and I don’t think their defense is good enough to stop Cal enough to keep them in the game. Texas will get up to play this game, but I think Cal wins.

Prediction: Cal 24, Texas 14

Pitt head coach Pat Narduzzi.
Pitt head coach Pat Narduzzi.

Pittsburgh (2-0) vs. Iowa (2-0)
Kinnick Stadium
Iowa City, Iowa
Line: Iowa -5.5

Pitt hasn’t been impressive this season. They’ve had their struggles against Youngstown State and Akron. Iowa is a better team than what Pitt has faced this season. They have to go to Iowa to play this game. As a WVU fan, I’m a Pitt hater. I have to pick Iowa.

Prediction: Iowa 30, Pitt 21

USC quarterback Cody Kessler.
USC quarterback Cody Kessler.

Stanford (1-1) vs. #6 USC (2-0)
Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum
Los Angeles, Calif.
Line: USC -10

Stanford hasn’t been the team that people were expecting. USC has looked pretty good, but they’ve faced weak competition. USC has a ton of talent, I love Steve Sarkisian as a coach. I don’t think Stanford can hang with USC, especially since the game is in Los Angeles. I think USC wins comfortably.

Prediction: USC 34, Stanford 17

UCLA quarterback Josh Rosen.
UCLA quarterback Josh Rosen.

#19 BYU (2-0) vs. #10 UCLA (2-0)
Rose Bowl
Los Angeles, Calif.
Line: UCLA -17

BYU can’t keep winning on Hail Marys, right? Surely someone can successfully defend a Hail Mary against BYU. Anyway, I think BYU will be excited to play this game. Both of these teams are well-coached. I might have a different prediction for this game if the game was in Provo, but it’s in Los Angeles. UCLA has more talent and it looks like quarterback Josh Rosen is the real deal. I don’t see BYU going into the Rose Bowl and knocking off UCLA.

Prediction: UCLA 35, BYU 20

Game of the Week:

Ole Miss wide receiver Lequon Treadwell.
Ole Miss wide receiver Lequon Treadwell.

#15 Ole Miss (2-0) vs. #2 Alabama (2-0)
Bryant-Denny Stadium
Tuscaloosa, Ala.
Line: Alabama -7

This is the game that intrigues me the most. Ole Miss has looked awesome, but it’s been against weak competition. Alabama has been a tad more impressive since they beat Wisconsin handedly, but they had struggles against Middle Tennessee. Nick Saban has struggled a lot defending teams that run spread offenses. If Ole Miss is going to win this game, they have to be able to run the football against Alabama. Alabama has one of the best front seven’s in all of college football, which makes it difficult to run against them. Ole Miss got the best of Alabama last season, but I can’t pick against Saban in Tuscaloosa.

Prediction: Alabama 27, Ole Miss 23

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

