NFL Week 2 Predictions

Movie Quote of the Day:

“You wasted $150,000 on an education you could’ve got for $1.50 in late fees at the library.”

– Will Hunting, Good Will Hunting (1997)

NFL Week 2 Predictions

I didn’t have a great record last week. I was surprised with a couple of upsets. Philadelphia let me down in their game, but they still almost pulled off the win. Same with Minnesota, they looked really bad. I’ll give credit to San Fracisco though, they looked a lot better than I thought they’d be. Buffalo surprised me too, I expected Indianapolis to struggle, but I thought they’d be able to make plays to stay in the game.

2015 Record: 9-7

Tonight:

Chiefs quarterback Alex Smith.
Chiefs quarterback Alex Smith.

Denver (1-0) vs. Kansas City (1-0)
Arrowhead Stadium
Kansas City, Mo.
Line: KC -3

Denver didn’t look impressive last week against Baltimore. If it weren’t for the Broncos’ defense they wouldn’t have won the game. Kansas City looked really good against Houston last week. They straight up dominated them from start to finish. Like I’ve already said in recent posts, I think Peyton Manning’s days are done. Arrowhead Stadium is a hostile environment, it could get ugly for Denver. I like the home team.

Prediction: Chiefs 28, Broncos 20

Sunday:

Carolina quarterback Cam Newton.
Carolina quarterback Cam Newton.

Houston (0-1) vs. Carolina (1-0)
Bank of America Stadium
Charlotte, N.C.
Line: CAR -3

The scoreboard didn’t show it, but Houston was dominated by Kansas City last week. Carolina beat Jacksonville comfortably, but wasn’t impressive. Both of these teams have their struggles on offense, but have stout defenses. It’s all about the quarterback in today’s NFL, and Cam Newton is a pretty good one. Whoever is the starting quarterback for Houston, I can’t see them making more plays than Cam Newton. I think this will be a low-scoring game, but I like Carolina.

Prediction: Panthers 20, Texans 17

San Francisco running back Carlos Hyde.
San Francisco running back Carlos Hyde.

San Francisco (1-0) vs. Pittsburgh (0-1)
Heinz Field
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Line: PIT -6

San Francisco didn’t look as bad as I thought they’d be, but Minnesota looked really bad against them. Pittsburgh’s defense looked awful against New England. The Steelers will be without running back Le’Veon Bell for another week, but DeAngelo Williams filled in fine for him against New England. Pittsburgh’s offense is a lot better than Minnesota’s, I think the 49ers will have their hands full trying to slow down the Steelers’ offense. I think Pittsburgh will be ready to play this game after a letdown last week.

Prediction: Steelers 35, 49ers 24

New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees.
New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees.

Tampa Bay (0-1) vs. New Orleans (0-1)
Mercedes-Benz Superdome
New Orleans, La.
Line: NO -11

Tampa Bay looked like they were still the worst team in the NFL last week. New Orleans played well against a pretty good Arizona team, and came close to beating them. Marcus Mariota torched Tampa Bay’s defense, and I think Drew Brees ought to do the same at home. I think New Orleans will win comfortably.

Prediction: Saints 34, Buccaneers 14

Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson.
Minnesota running back Adrian Peterson.

Detroit (0-1) vs. Minnesota (0-1)
TCF Bank Stadium
Minneapolis, Minn.
Line: MIN -2.5

Both teams weren’t impressive in their season openers, particularly Minnesota. Detroit gave up a ton of yards to San Diego’s offense. Minnesota just looked bad on all sides of the football. I expect Minnesota to play better at home, but I think they still have a long way to go. Detroit’s defense struggled against the San Diego, but I still like them to get the win on the road.

Prediction: Lions 23, Vikings 17

Chicago quarterback Jay Cutler.
Chicago quarterback Jay Cutler.

Arizona (1-0) vs. Chicago (0-1)
Soldier Field
Chicago, Ill.
Line: ARI -2

Arizona looked like the team that I expected for this season. The Cardinals are well-coached and have a pretty good defense. Chicago looked much improved, but they’re still not a very good team. They’re particularly still bad on defense. I think this game could get more out of hand because Arizona has a much better defense than Green Bay and will be able to get more stops. I expect Arizona to get a road win.

Prediction: Cardinals 27, Bears 17

Buffalo quarterback Tyrod Taylor.
Buffalo quarterback Tyrod Taylor.

New England (1-0) vs. Buffalo (1-0)
Ralph Wilson Stadium
Buffalo, N.Y.
Line: Even

New England was another team that looked the way I expected them to play. They were pretty good on offense, but struggled at times on defense. Buffalo impressed me in their win against Indianapolis, they looked really good. Buffalo is a crazy place to play, that Bills defense is something special. I think Buffalo’s defense will make it difficult for Brady. I like the Bills.

Prediction: Bills 24, Patriots 21

Cincinnati tight end Tyler Eifert.
Cincinnati tight end Tyler Eifert.

San Diego (1-0) vs. Cincinnati (1-0)
Paul Brown Stadium
Cincinnati, Ohio
Line: CIN -3

San Diego impressed me in their win because they came back from a 21-3 deficit to win their game against Detroit. Cincinnati looked a lot better than I thought they’d be. Cincinnati’s defense could pose trouble for San Diego’s average offensive line. I don’t like a west coast team traveling to the east coast to play a game. I like Cincinnati to get the win.

Prediction: Bengals 27, Chargers 21

Tennessee quarterback Marcus Mariota.
Tennessee quarterback Marcus Mariota.

Tennessee (1-0) vs. Cleveland (0-1)
FirstEnergy Stadium
Cleveland, Ohio
Line: Even

Tennessee looked awesome against Tampa Bay, especially quarterback Marcus Mariota. They dominated Tampa Bay in every aspect of the game. Cleveland still looks like a normal Cleveland team, they were abysmal last week. I’m looking forward to seeing what Mariota does in his second start, he set quite the bar last week. I think Tennessee wins this game because they have the better coach and quarterback.

Prediction: Titans 24, Browns 13

Giants quarterback Eli Manning.
Giants quarterback Eli Manning.

Atlanta (1-0) vs. New York (0-1)
MetLife Stadium
East Rutherford, N.J.
Line: NYG -2.5

Atlanta looked like a Super Bowl contender in that first half against Philadelphia on Monday night. However, Philadelphia started to figure out how their weaknesses and the Falcons didn’t look near the same in the second half. New York almost escaped Dallas with a win, but poor clock management prevented that from happening. I think Atlanta will struggle on the road, and I think the Giants will play angry after that loss last week. It’ll be a close game though.

Prediction: Giants 26, Falcons 23

St. Louis quarterback Nick Foles.
St. Louis quarterback Nick Foles.

St. Louis (1-0) vs. Washington (0-1)
FedEx Field
Landover, Md.
Line: STL -3.5

St. Louis impressed me against Seattle, they were the better team that day. Washington looked improved, but they blew a lead at home. I’m curious to see if St. Louis comes out flat on the road after an emotional home win. St. Louis is a better coached team than Washington and they have the better defense. Like I’ve said before, I’m not a believer in Jay Gruden as a NFL coach. I think Washington will make it difficult, but St. Louis gets the road win.

Prediction: Rams 21, Redskins 17

Miami wide receiver Jarvis Landry.
Miami wide receiver Jarvis Landry.

Miami (1-0) vs. Jacksonville (0-1)
EverBank Stadium
Jacksonville, Fla.
Line: MIA -7

Miami disappointed me a little bit last week, but they battled back and got a nice road win. Jacksonville was about what I expected. I think both teams will roughly play the same as they did last week. I expect Miami’s defensive line to make it difficult for Jacksonville’s offensive line. I really like Miami’s offense and I expect them to score points. I think Jacksonville makes it difficult for Miami, but I think Miami pulls away in the second half.

Prediction: Dolphins 23, Jaguars 14

Oakland linebacker Khalil Mack.
Oakland linebacker Khalil Mack.

Baltimore (0-1) vs. Oakland (0-1)
O.co Coliseum
Oakland, Calif.
Line: BAL -7

Baltimore struggled on the road against Denver last week, which is uncharacteristic of this Ravens team. They usually play very well on the road. I expected improvement from Oakland, but they still looked awful. Oakland could be without Derek Carr after his hand injury last week. Either way, I don’t think Oakland will win this game. Baltimore will win comfortably.

Prediction: Ravens 27, Raiders 13

Eagles quarterback Sam Bradford.
Eagles quarterback Sam Bradford.

Dallas (1-0) vs. Philadelphia (0-1)
Lincoln Financial Field
Philadelphia, Pa.
Line: PHI -5

Dallas impressed me in their win against New York because they didn’t get very many breaks in the game, yet still won. Philadelphia was the better team against Atlanta, but it took them a half to get it together. Dallas will be without wide receiver Dez Bryant for a few weeks. I think Philadelphia will play well at home, and I think DeMarco Murray will have a big game against his former team. I’ll take the Eagles.

Prediction: Eagles 30, Cowboys 24

Monday:

Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck.
Indianapolis quarterback Andrew Luck.

New York (1-0) vs. Indianapolis (0-1)
Lucas Oil Stadium
Indianapolis, Ind.
Line: IND -7.5

New York won easily and looked decent, but Cleveland is awful. Indianapolis struggled against Buffalo on the road. I expect Indianapolis to play better at home. I can’t see Luck getting outplayed by a lesser quarterback in a second consecutive week. I don’t think the Colts defense is any good and that could make it easier for the Jets to score points. I still think the Colts win, but it’ll be close.

Prediction: Colts 27, Jets 23

Game of the Week:

Seattle tight end Jimmy Graham.
Seattle tight end Jimmy Graham.

Seattle (0-1) vs. Green Bay (1-0)
Lambeau Field
Green Bay, Wisc.
Line: GB -3.5

Both of these defenses struggled last week. Seattle gave up 34 points to Nick Foles and St. Louis. Green Bay gave up over 400 yards of offense against Chicago. I’ll give some credit to the Rams and the Bears, they were improved from where they were a season ago. I could go either way for this game. I think Green Bay is going to be hungry to beat Seattle after the NFC Championship. I don’t think this Seattle team has the right mindset right now. However, Green Bay gave up over 150 yards rushing to Matt Forte last week. I think Marshawn Lynch has a field day against Green Bay’s defense, especially now that Green Bay’s starting inside linebacker Sam Barrington is done for the year. I can’t bring myself to pick Green Bay, I think Seattle gets back on track.

Prediction: Seahawks 31, Packers 30

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

