Top 100 NFL Players by Position: Kickers

Movie Quote of the Day:

“I’m a peacock, Captain! You gotta let me fly on this one!”

– Terry Hoitz, The Other Guys (2010)

NFL analysts, experts, players, etc. have been releasing their own rankings for the top players in the NFL. The NFL Network just released their Top 100 that is voted on by the players. Also, Mike Miller at Bleacher Report has been coming out with his own rankings of the Top 1,000 players in the NFL.

I decided to create my own version of this, but I’m going to put it together by position (except punters and fullbacks because nobody cares about them) and it’ll only be 100 players. I’m not even sure I can name 1,000 people that I know in the real world let alone the NFL. I’m also going to add honorable mentions and the “Rising Star” of each position. Another thing I added when creating these lists is that the players have to currently be on a team. No free agents.

I’m going to do this list from positions that I find the least interesting to the most interesting. Even though no one cares about kickers, they ‘re the first ones up on my rankings. They’re a part of fantasy football so I find them (somewhat) interesting.

Rising Star:

Parkey

Cody Parkey, Philadelphia Eagles

2014 stats: 32/36 (88.8%) on FG attempts, 54/54 (100%) on XP attempts, and 158 points

Parkey was only a rookie last year and look at the stats that he put up for the Eagles. Parkey was second in the NFL for points scored last year, and also made the Pro Bowl too. He’s got a bright future with the Eagles.

Honorable Mention:

Bryant

Matt Bryant, Atlanta Falcons

2014 stats: 29/32 (90.6%) on FG attempts, 56/56 (100%) on XP attempts, and 146 points

Bryant has bounced around a lot during his NFL career, but he has made a name for himself in Atlanta. He made a Pro Bowl in 2010. He has a career 85.4 percent on FG attempts and his longest field goal to date is 62 yards.

Top 5 Kickers in the NFL:

Vinatieri

5. Adam Vinatieri, Indianapolis Colts

2014 stats: 30/31 (96.7%) on FG attempts, 50/50 (100%) on XP attempts, and 152 points

If this were 10 years ago, Vinatieri would be number one hands down, but he’s now 42 years old. He made his name known in New England where he had two last-second field goals to win two different Super Bowls (XXXVI and XXXVIII). He’s been a 3x First-team All-Pro in the NFL (2002, 2004, and 2014) and a 3x Pro Bowl appearance in the same years. Vinatieri also has a career 83.7 percent on FG attempts.

Hauschka

4. Steven Hauschka, Seattle Seahawks

2014 stats: 31/37 (83.7%) on FG attempts, 41/41 (100%) on XP attempts, and 141 points

2014 was a bit of a “down” year for Hauschka. He has a career 85.4 percent on FG attempts and his longest field goal is 58 yards. The Pro Football Writers Association (PFWA) named him All-Pro in 2013.

Dan Bailey

3. Dan Bailey, Dallas Cowboys

2014 stats: 25/29 (86.2%) on FG attempts, 56/56 (100%) on XP attempts, and 145 points

Number three may be too low for Bailey. Bailey is currently the most accurate field goal kicker in NFL history at 89.8 percent. So, like Hauschka, 2014 was a “down” year for Bailey.

Gostkowski2

2. Stephen Gostkowski, New England Patriots

2014 stats: 35/37 (94.6 %) on FG attempts, 51/51 (100%) on XP attempts, and 168 points

Gostkowski had the best year amongst kickers in 2014, but he was only given a Second-team All-Pro. However, he was franchise tagged in the offseason so he’s at least getting a nice pay for 2015. Gostkowski is 3x Pro Bowler (2008, 2013, and 2014) and was First-team All-Pro in 2008. Gostkowski has a career 86.8 percent on FG attempts.

Tucker

1. Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens

2014 stats: 29/34 (85.3) on FG attempts, 42/42 (100%) on XP attempts, and 136 points

I’ve been a huge fan of Justin Tucker since a Monday Night Football game against the Detroit Lions in 2013. Baltimore won the game thanks to Tucker. Tucker made six field goals during the game, including a 61 yarder in the final minute to give Baltimore the win (I was happy because it kept my Packers in playoff contention). After the game, Tucker was being interviewed and I’ll never forget him saying how he wanted to thank the people who had him on their fantasy football teams.

After I watched that I thought to myself “that’s an awesome response!” I made a mental note to get him on my fantasy team the next year, and I did. Unfortunately, last year was his worst season in the NFL. I’m not giving up on him. Tucker will be my fantasy kicker this year, if he’s available.

Tucker has a career 89.8 percent on FG attempts (91.8 percent prior to 2014). Tucker was both a Pro Bowler and First-team All-Pro in 2013. He had a rough 2014, but Tucker is the best kicker in the NFL in my opinion.

Tomorrow: Top 5 Offensive Guards

All stats from:
http://www.nfl.com/stats/player

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

