My Take on the 2015 NBA Finals

Movie Quote of the Day:

“I take quaaludes 10 to 15 times a day for my ‘back pain’, Adderall to stay focused, Xanax to take the edge off, pot to mellow me out, cocaine to wake me back up again, and morpine, well…because it’s awesome.”

– Jordan Belfort, The Wolf of Wall Street (2013)

image

My congratulations to the Golden State Warriors on winning the NBA Finals on Tuesday, beating the Cleveland Cavaliers in six games. The fans of the Golden State organization have waited 40 long years to see this happen again (Warriors last title came in 1975).

First off, what a performance by LeBron James. I think he was the real MVP of the NBA Finals, and I’m sure I’m not the only person who thinks that. James averaged 35.8 points, 13.3 rebounds, and 8.8 assists during the entire series. He became the only player in NBA history to lead both Finals teams in points, rebounds, and assists throughout the series. I’ll probably never see a performance like that again in my lifetime.

Obviously, the only reason that James wasn’t the NBA Finals MVP was because his team was on the losing side. The only time, that I know of, that a player lost the Finals but won MVP was Jerry West in 1969.

James was a one man show the entire series. There was a brief moment of stardom from Matthew Dellavedova, but that hype quickly vanished after game four. James was without playmakers Kyrie Irving, Kevin Love, and Anderson Varejão, all due to injury. If those four players had been healthy, there’d be no doubt in my mind that Cleveland would’ve won this series.

Golden State was fantastic all season and deserved this championship. They played excellent team ball, which is why LeBron couldn’t pull off the upset in this series. A one man show will never beat a team with great chemistry and teamwork.

Another cool stat is that Stephen Curry is the first player in NBA history to knock off the other four members of the All-NBA First Team (Anthony Davis, Marc Gasol, James Harden, and LeBron James) on his way to winning the championship.

I’ll give credit to Cleveland for making this an interesting series. I had picked Golden State to win the whole thing before the playoffs started, and I got a little worried when Cleveland went up 2-1.

However, it was a great coaching job by Steve Kerr after game three. We saw more of Andre Iguodala (who went on to win Finals MVP) and David Lee. That helped lead Golden State winning three straight games and, eventually, the title.

LeBron stats from:

http://www.basketball-reference.com/players/j/jamesle01/gamelog/2015/

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow Me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

