Chicago Blackhawks: The Newest NHL Dynasty, Which Team is Next?

Movie Quote of the Day:

“Take off your vest. You like Aladdin.”
– Evan, Superbad (2007)


Congratulations to the Chicago Blackhawks who won the Stanley Cup last night, defeating the Tampa Bay Lightning in six games.

This makes the third Stanley Cup championship that the Chicago Blackhawks have won in the last six seasons (2010, 2013, 2015). The last time an NHL team accomplished that was the Detroit Red Wings from 1997-2002. Detroit won three championships in six years (1997, 1998, 2002), just like Chicago.

This intrigued me to write this article because there’s become less dynasties in the NHL. From the years 1991 to 2015, only two organizations have had “dynasties” and they combined for six championships in the last 25 NHL seasons.

In my opinion, to categorize a “dynasty” I think a sports team has to win at least three championships. Whether that’s in a row, or over span of years. For example, three championships in four years, five years, six years, etc. I also consider championship appearances to count toward a dynasty. As long as that team wins at least three championships in the process.

Before I list my definition of NHL dynasties, I need to explain that I didn’t choose any NHL dynasties prior to 1967. The reason for that is because in 1967 the NHL had a major expansion. The effect of the expansion was that the league doubled in size. Prior to the 1967 expansion, the NHL only had six teams (Boston Bruins, Chicago Blackhawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, New York Rangers, and Toronto Maple Leafs).

List of other notable NHL Dynasties:

Edmonton Oilers:
• Length of Dynasty: 8 seasons (1983-1990)
• Stanley Cup Appearances: 6
• Titles Won: 5 (1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990)

Montreal Canadiens:
• Length of Dynasty: 12 seasons (1968-1979)
• Stanley Cup Appearances: 8
• Titles Won: 8 (1968, 1969, 1971, 1973, 1976-1979)

New York Islanders:
• Length of Dynasty: 5 seasons (1980-1984)
• Stanley Cup Appearances: 5
• Titles Won: 4 (1980-1983)

As you can see, prior to Detroit and Chicago, dynasties were more common the NHL. During a span of 24 NHL seasons, three different organizations won a combined 17 Stanley Cup championships and appeared in 19 Stanley Cup Finals. That’s a pretty big difference than the last 25 seasons.

Now, can Chicago keep it up?

I won’t completely rule it out, but it’s unlikely. I say this because the Chicago Blackhawks have an average age of 29.6 (third oldest in the NHL). I think Chicago might get another ring, but I’ll admit that I don’t know anything about hockey. I don’t follow hockey at all so I could be very wrong about this.

Teams to keep an eye on for the next NHL dynasty:

Los Angeles Kings are the most likely candidate. Los Angeles has already won two Stanley Cup championships in the last four seasons (2012 and 2014). They also have an average age of 27.9 (ninth youngest in the NHL). They have a lot of experience with a fairly young roster.

The next team I’ll mention is the team that just lost the Stanley Cup, the Tampa Bay Lightning. They just made the Stanley Cup Finals with a very young roster. The average age of Tampa Bay is 27.2 (second youngest in the NHL). Either Tampa Bay got hot at the right time, or they have a bright future.


Stanley Cup championships and appearances:

Average age of every NHL team:

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s