My Take on Manziel’s Latest Incident

Movie Quote of the Day:

“ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED? IS THIS NOT WHY YOU’RE HERE?”

– Maximus, Gladiator (2000)

image

On Saturday, Johnny Manziel attended a golf tournament in the Dallas area. While he was there, Manziel was asked multiple times for a picture from a fan. Reportedly, Manziel refused a picture and the fan became a heckler and verbally harassed Manziel at a hotel pool.

This provoked Manziel to throw a water bottle at the heckler. The water bottle missed the heckler and hit the wall behind him. Hotel security and police intervened and no charges will be filed against either party.

Before I get into my stance on the latest Johnny Manziel off the field incident, I’m going to say that I’ve never been a fan of Manziel. Anyone who knows me well knows that I’ve always been critical of him. In any incident regarding Manziel I’ve always taken the side against him and never gave him the benefit of the doubt.

However, for the first time, I’m going to defend Manziel.

No one likes a heckler, Manziel didn’t do anything I probably wouldn’t have done myself if I was getting harassed. In fact, I think Manziel handled it better than I would. I’m not certain what exactly was said, but I can’t promise I wouldn’t have punched the guy if the comments got really out of hand.

This incident is only getting publicity because Manziel has had his share of off the field problems. I think if anyone else had done what Manziel did to a heckler they would (probably) get a positive response from the media and fans. That’s my opinion though.

Thank for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

