Introduction

For the record, I’m a huge fan of cinema. I’m going to start every blog post with a great quote from a great movie. More than likely, they will come from my favorite movies. Some of my favorite movies include: Gladiator (2001), The Departed (2006), Inglourious Basterds (2009), Old School (2003), and Anchorman (2004). I’m also a huge fan of the TV shows Game of Thrones, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, and Entourage.

Movie quote of the day:

“How about that ride in? I guess that’s why they call it Sin City.”
– Alan Garner, The Hangover (2009)

Now, welcome to my first ever blog post! Calling myself a huge sports fan is an understatement. I love sports, particularly football. I listen to Colin Cowherd’s radio show just about every day on ESPN radio. Former WVU quarterback Clint Trickett and New York Jets wide receiver Eric Decker are my sports man crushes. I’m not afraid to admit that. Trickett has the best head of hair that I’ve ever seen on a sports figure, I just had to throw that out there. I mean seriously, look at this head of hair:

Bxq-0lRIcAAKAGu.jpg-large

I hope to have more people reading this blog other than my mom, but you don’t know anything about me. Therefore, this post will only be about “introducing” myself below.

About Me:

I was born in Charleston, West Virginia and my whole family originates from southern West Virginia. I moved to Hoover, Alabama when I was four years old. I graduated from Hoover High School where I was a three-year letterman in football. My high school was, and still is, a prominent high school football program. I played for three straight state championships during my tenure there, winning the 6A state championship in 2009. Yes, I will bring up my experiences playing high school football every now and then and will boast about the success of my alma mater.

My mom told me that the day after I was born, my grandfather came to the hospital to see me and brought with him a WVU outfit for me to wear. I never stood a chance. I was born into the fraternity that is WVU fandom. However, I spent almost 15 years of my life in the heart of SEC sports country, which wasn’t easy on me. I was always made fun of by my classmates because I was a WVU fan, when almost everyone else was a fan an SEC school, but I continued to bleed blue and gold.

I grew up my whole life dreaming of attending WVU and going back to the state that I love. I never believed that I would have the opportunity in high school so I never considered it as an option when I was looking at colleges to attend. The problem was that I never cared for any of the colleges in Alabama, outside of the University of Alabama. However, I came to the decision to attend a local community college after I graduated since I was undecided about which school to attend and I was uncertain of what I wanted to do as a career. Looking back, even though I despised my tenure at Jeff State Community College, it was the best decision that I ever made.

One of the nights that I went to visit my best friend in his dorm room at Alabama, I decided to go ahead and apply to WVU. Eventually, I got accepted and I’ve spent the last three years here in Morgantown. I’m now about to graduate with a bachelor’s degree in print journalism next month. It was a difficult decision to leave my friends and family behind, but my heart was always in WVU.

As for sports, I’ve already established myself as a die-hard WVU fan of any sport. I’m also a HUGE Green Bay Packers fan. I’m always going to argue that Aaron Rodgers is currently the best quarterback in the NFL, and the fact that fans of the Dallas Cowboys need to get over the Dez Bryant “catch.” Might as well get used to it. I also like the Boston Celtics, Boston Bruins, and Texas Rangers (I don’t follow them near as religiously as I do Green Bay and WVU). I despise Pitt athletics, Duke basketball, the Dallas Cowboys, and the Seattle Seahawks. I will express my hatred for all of those teams regularly.

Going forward:

I’m not sure how often I’ll post to this blog, but I’ll try to post my thoughts on the big sports news stories of the day. I’ll post my thoughts and predictions on upcoming seasons (NFL, college football, college basketball, etc.). I’ll also post about any ideas I have about any big issues that I’ve heard about recently. One of the bigger posts I’m looking forward to is my predictions for the NFL Draft in a few weeks.

Thanks for reading

Shane Price
Follow me on Twitter – @priceisright53

Leave a Reply

